Skip to content

Cupcake Love

May 5, 2010

I am in love with this photo.

I am in love with these cupcakes.

This chocolate cake recipe comes from Amanda at I am Baker and it’s simple, moist, chocolatey and delicious! 

I recently used this recipe for birthday cakes with chocolate buttercream and Marshmallow fondant that I’ll share later this week!

YUM

The best Chocolate Cupcakes

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup hot, freshly brewed coffee

Makes 24 cupcakes or 2 – 8″ round cakes

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

Sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa, soda, baking powder and salt and set aside.

In another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, vegetable oil, eggs and vanilla.

Stir the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture and mix until well combined.  Add the coffee and mix until the batter has all come together. 

Pour into prepared cupcake tins and bake for 20-22 minutes or until a pick inserted into the middle of the cupcake comes out clean.

Let cupcakes cool before frosting.

Frost cupcakes with your favorite buttercream (I used leftover chocolate buttercream and added some “Nutella” chocolate hazelnut spread)

Enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 12:36 pm

    You SHOULD be in love with that photo… its amazing!! Great job!

    Be blessed-
    Amanda

  2. May 5, 2010 1:40 pm

    Oh my! That is a great photo! And I love how you showed how you did it! Thanks for sharing the tip! The cupcakes look amazing!
    And Thanks for joining in the fun at Cupcake Tuesday!
    ~Liz

  3. May 5, 2010 1:51 pm

    hahaha! I love it! i love it mostly because we all do the same crazy stuff to get that great background!
    Your photo is gorgeous and I can’t believe there is a whole CUP of coffee in there! Can’t wait to try the recipe!!

  4. May 18, 2010 3:38 am

    Katie, these look absolutely DELICIOUS! Wow, I must have some! Too bad it takes like 2 weeks for things to get here! I would order some! Hehehe…Lance & I may have to make some tomorrow! Thanks for the inspiration!

Trackbacks

  1. Birthday Cakes « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  2. The Farm Cake « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  3. Birthday Cake Leftovers! « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  4. Come on Barbie, Let’s go Party! « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  5. Inspired by… « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog

Leave a comment