Skip to content

The Farm Cake

May 20, 2010

*UPDATE* If you’re looking for a more detailed look at the farm cake go HERE

The farm cake.

I made this cake last weekend for a birthday party at the farm!  

The cake had to be dairy free so I had to do some substitutions in my recipes and it turned out pretty fantastic!   In place of butter I used Earth Balance vegan butter and I used vanilla almond milk in place of the milk or buttermilk in the recipes. 

The bottom cake is The Perfect Party cake from Dorie greenspan’s Baking from my home to yours.  It’s filled with strawberry preserves and lemon curd and coated in a delcious buttercream.

The top cake is the Best chocolate cake ever with vanilla buttercream. 

 Both cakes were a huge hit (and thankfully I was attending the birthday and got to try the cake!)

The coloured details have been painted on using a fine paintbrush with gel paste food colouring and water. 

I am so happy with the end result!

I also learned that the thinner you roll the Marshmallow fondant, the easier it is to apply to the cake without getting creases!

Enjoy!

P.S. – Did I mention that I’m Lovin my farm cake?  Check it out at TidyMom!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. betchacanteatjustone permalink*
    May 21, 2010 12:00 am

    Thanks Marusha for the great photo! I’m sure I’ll have my camera hooked back up to my computer in no time!

  2. Merideth permalink
    May 21, 2010 12:19 am

    You should be so proud of this cake! Delicious! I’m glad to read that the Earth Balance worked out for you. I’ve used it in the past, but it didn’t work out so well. However, I think I used an olive oil version (if they have such a thing?). I’m going to attempt some baking with coconut oil in place of butter for the cake and the icing. I’ll let you know how that works out.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      May 21, 2010 12:26 am

      I would be really interested to know how coconut oil works out! The white cake was a little more dense than usual (I’m thinking because of the Almond milk instead of buttermilk) but everything tasted delicious!

  3. May 21, 2010 1:14 pm

    great cake! I love the little ducks! also, cute new banner 🙂

  4. May 21, 2010 2:18 pm

    Its fantastic!! Those ducks kill me… just love them! Your site looks fantastic!

  5. May 23, 2010 5:02 pm

    This is adorable!!

Leave a Reply

