Skip to content

Come on Barbie, Let’s go Party!

October 2, 2011

Last week my daughter celebrated her 6th birthday!

I’m usually known for throwing quite a party but this year kept things pretty low key…6 kids, pizza making, cake decorating, a homemade store bought pinata and a Barbie cake!

 I had big plans for this Barbie cake.

They involved fondant.

7am morning of the party I was piping pink swirls and calling it a day!

 Were the 6 year olds impressed??  You betcha!

I’m definitely learning in my 30’s  🙂

The cake is constructed with two 7″ cake layers and one 5″ round layer and then carved in a dress shape.   Dollar store Barbie is wrapped in tinfoil and stuck into the centre.  The Buttercream is flavored with vanilla and a strained raspberry puree and the cake is “the best chocolate cake ever”  You can find the recipe HERE.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 3:42 pm

    Good job! My mother was making Barbie Doll cakes (not sure if they were Barbies at first) in the 50’s….maybe even earlier..

    You did a beautiful job…

  2. October 17, 2011 1:14 pm

    My grandma used to make these for my birthday when I was little. This one is so cute, the pink colour is just perfect!

Leave a Reply

