Skip to content

Cinnamon Maple Almond Butter

May 6, 2015

023

I love almond butter!

I love almond butter but often skip buying it at the grocery store as the price can sometimes be difficult to justify (and my kids could consume the entire jar in record breaking time.) An apple with a spoonful of almond butter is one of my favorite snacks and I’m excited about all of the possibilities now that I know how easy it is to make it myself!

The recipe for this Cinnamon Maple Almond Butter is from the Oh She Glows cookbook that I scooped up recently from Costco.  Its full of some amazingly delicious, vegan recipes and includes everything from Breakfast to dessert and all meals in between!

This recipe costs roughly $5 to make and yields almost 400ml

The only thing I would do differently next time is to omit the chia seeds so the texture remains closer to the almond butter that I’m familiar with.

Cinnamon Maple Almond Butter

  • 2 1/4 cups raw almonds
  • 2 tbsp. pure maple syrup
  • 2 tsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp. hemp hearts
  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • sea salt (to taste)

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Toss the almonds with the maple syrup so they are evenly coated and spread evenly onto the lined pan.

bake the almonds for 20-25 minutes or until they smell good and toasted!

002

Cool almonds on the pan.

Once cooled, add almonds to a food processor and process for 5 minutes, scraping down the edge of the bowl as needed.

004

add the coconut oil and continue to process for another 3-5 minutes or until the almond butter has a smooth texture.  Add the remaining ingredients and continue to process until smooth.

005

Store your almond butter in a glass jar with a good lid and store in the fridge.  It should last over a month (or maybe not…it’s delicious!)

022

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. beccabiscocho permalink
    May 7, 2015 5:17 pm

    What’s hemp hearts and where can I buy it?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      May 7, 2015 5:26 pm

      Hemp hearts are raw shelled hemp seeds. They are packed full of protein!
      I purchase mine in a large bag at Costco but they should be available in your local health foods store or even grocery stores. Omitting te hemp hearts shouldn’t effect the overall recipe too much though

Leave a comment