Skip to content

MY Island Oat Bars

May 25, 2011

The Island Oat Bar from Starbucks is my favorite treat!  It’s sweet, dense and chewy and goes perfect with a cup of tea or coffee.

I’ve tried to nail down a recipe for a good oat bar that resembles the ones found at Starbucks and I think I’ve finally done it!   If these don’t sound familiar to you, it’s probably because they’re a Canadian Starbucks thing.

 They’re delicious.

As Close to Starbucks as I can Make Em Oat Bars

  • 1/2 cup butter, unsalted
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup ( you can use corn syrup here, but I chose the healthier option)
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups quick cooking oats

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a 9″X7″ brownie size pan or an 8″ square pan with parchment.

Using a blender or a food processor, pulse 2 cups of the oats until they resemble a coarse meal.  Mix together with the remaing oats.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter with the brown sugar, agave syrup and salt.  Stir until all of the butter has melted and the sugar has dissolved.

Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla and milk.

Add all of the oats to the pot and stir until everything is well combined.

Firmly pack the oat mixture into the prepared pan and bake for 15-20 minutes, the oat bars should be a very light golden brown.

Remove from the oven and cool completely before slicing into bars.

Enjoy!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 9:05 pm

    Thank you…I love Starbucks Oat Bars and have often wondered how to make.I will be giving this a try.

  2. Pauline permalink
    June 28, 2011 11:10 pm

    I have made these 2 times and find them delicious but don’t hold together very well. Did you find this too and do you have any suggestions?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 29, 2011 8:21 am

      I’ve used the recipe a few times and if they’re not really well packed in the pan the edges are a bit crumbly but they stood up well in a school lunch box. I would try pulsing 2 1/2 cups of the oats in the food processor rather than just two and see if that helps! I’ve also had some feedback that others took longer than 20 minutes to bake, it’s possible that my oven may run a little warmer.
      Best of luck!

  3. Wendy Griffiths permalink
    December 3, 2011 1:39 am

    Thanks for the recipe. I have made a few variations of “The Oat Bar” and this one is the closest one I have found. I think it’s perfect! The texture was great, not too crumbly. I used the agave syrup and cooked it in a larger pan which made them a bit thinner. Thanks again for taking the time to post your recipe.

  4. Beezer permalink
    February 26, 2012 6:04 pm

    Amazing recipe! I had a Starbucks oat bar for the first time last wen my son was in the hospital. It was a bit like comfort food. I tried the recipe and it is perfect. I added some shredded coconut and cinnamon to give it a kick and it was a nice addition. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Shan permalink
    May 20, 2012 12:39 pm

    These were very crumbly but delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

  6. peted permalink
    June 4, 2012 1:15 pm

    These oatbars are better Starbucks! I made a batch on saturday and whole family ate them. They were asking for another batch by sunday night. Since I am diabetic and on a strict diet, I substituted a few ingredients. I switched brown sugar twin for the brown sugar, coconut sugar for the agave syrup (lower glycemic) and coconut milk for cows milk. It turned out very nicely!! Thanks for the recipe!!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 4, 2012 5:31 pm

      So glad the recipe worked out so great for you! 🙂

  7. Mamaof3 permalink
    February 6, 2013 7:00 pm

    These are absolutely delicious! Taste just like the ones at Starbucks. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Elishia permalink
    March 14, 2013 8:01 am

    I made these this morning. I don’t find mine crumbly at all – mind you my oats did get blended a bit more than called for.
    They do resemble Starbucks oat bars and are quite tasty!
    Good job!!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      March 14, 2013 8:19 am

      I’m glad these turned out so well for you! The last time I made them I browned the butter first and they turned out spectacular!

  9. Anne permalink
    April 27, 2013 7:18 pm

    Instead of agave syrup, could I use honey? I can’t seem to find it at my grocery store. Thanks for the recipe post by the way.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 27, 2013 7:56 pm

      you should be able to use honey with no problems 🙂

  10. Harper permalink
    June 13, 2013 9:24 pm

    I made these the other morning and they turned out perfect! Being a barista at a Starbucks, I am addicted to the oat bars and am always in search of a way to fill my Starbucks cravings at home. This recipe does the trick! I even had a few co-workers sample them and they agreed that they tasted almost identical to the real thing. Thanks for the recipe!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 14, 2013 5:22 am

      So glad to hear they turned out great for you Harper! I made many failed batched before this recipe!

  11. Alejandra permalink
    February 3, 2014 3:50 pm

    Just made them! AMAZING:) Used 1/4 C maple syrup instead of the agave as that’s what I had on hand.

  12. Amanda permalink
    January 19, 2015 11:53 am

    Hi, if I were to double the batch would the bake time be the same?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 19, 2015 11:56 am

      I haven’t tried doubling up this recipe so I’d just recommend checkig up on it after the original time. If the pan is twice the size, I’d imagine the cook time should be close to the same

  13. PeggyD permalink
    March 9, 2015 6:43 pm

    I just tried the recipe as written and compared them to authentic Canadian Starbucks Oat Bars, side by side. I wish I could say they were the same, but they are not. Although your oat bars are very good, they aren’t as chewy and dense as the Starbucks. The taste is similar, but texture is not quite there.

    • PeggyD permalink
      May 6, 2015 5:55 am

      OK – on second thought, these are almost exactly like the Oatbars from Canadian Starbucks. Since I wrote the first comment, Starbucks has changed their supplier (or recipe) and it is closer to YOURS than ever. Good job!

      • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
        May 6, 2015 7:06 am

        Haha thanks Peggy! Icould sure go for one right now!!

Trackbacks

  1. Inspired by… « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog
  2. Kettle Corn – Secret Recipe Club | Angela's Kitchen

Leave a comment