Skip to content

Root Beer Bundt Cake

May 13, 2011

 

The recipe for this Root Beer Bundt Cake comes from BAKED by Matt Lewis and Rento Poliafito.

This is the second time I’ve made this cake, the first time I followed the recipe to a “T” and I thought it just tasted like a really good chocolate bundt cake with no root beer to be found anywhere!

The original recipe is very chocolatley and has a rich chocolate frosting (don’t get me wrong, it’s delicious…just not root beer!)  The recipe suggests replacing 1/2 cup of the 2 cups of root beer with a root beer schnapps for a more pronounced flavour, but let’s be honest…I’m far too cheap to buy a bottle of root beer schnapps to bake a cake!

 So this time around I thought I’d change it up a bit and cut back the cocoa by 2/3 of a cup and still I felt like the root beer flavour was super subtle.  If you didn’t know you were tasting root beer, it would be easily overlooked!  I also reduced a can of root beer down to a syrup that I mixed up with some softened butter and powdered sugar to create a root beer glaze and served the cake with vanilla bean ice cream.

Is it worth baking?

I think it is, just don’t expect the root beer flavour to hit ya in the face! 

And maybe serve it with a root beer float 😉

 

Root Beer Bundt Cake recipe from BAKED (and slightly adapted by Katie)

  • 2 cups root beer (do not use diet)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and generously grease a 10″ bundt pan with non stick spray.  (I did NOT dust with flour, although you’re supposed to.  I find it makes my cake stick)

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the root beer, cocoa powder and butter.  Cook, stirring until the butter has melted.  Add the sugars and whisk until they’ve dissolved.  Remove from the heat and let cool.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.

Mix the eggs into the cooled root beer mixture until everything is well combined and then gently fold in the flour mixture.  The batter will be a bit lumpy, it’s supposed to be that way! 🙂

Pour batter into prepared pan and bake cake for 35-40 minutes (my cake took quite a bit longer, but was in a deeper smaller pan) or until a pick inserted into the cake comes out clean. 

Transfer the cake to a wire rack and let cool.  Once cake has cooled, gently loosen cake from the edges of the pan and invert to free the cake!

For the Glaze I poured the remaining root beer (from the orignal 2 cans) into a small saucepan and simmered over medium heat until it had reduced by about half.  I then mixed with about 2 tbsp of butter and enough icing sugar to make a fairly thick glaze.  I had every intention of measuring but when the time  came I totally forgot!

Spoon Glaze over cooled cake.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

