Skip to content

Orange and Chocolate Buttermilk Bundt Cakes

May 26, 2011

 

Aren’t these pretty?

While on a search for a donut pan (BTW if anyone reading this has a donut pan they’d like to toss my way I’d be forever grateful, and I’d make you donuts)  I recently came across the sweetest mini bundt pan made from heavy-duty cast Aluminum at my favorite thrift store.

 It was only $3.99 and looked like it had never even been used 🙂

 I have a bit of a thrift store addiction, it’s like a treasure hunt and I almost always score something awesome!

I thought that Chocolate Buttermilk Bundt cakes sounded pretty fantastic, and I thought that adding orange zest would make them even more awesome.  I did over bake these suckers, I wasn’t sure exactly how long the cake would take in mini pans and due to fussy, nursing every hour baby I left them in the oven just a touch too long.  I tried to solve the problem by dipping them into a Chocolate orange syrup but they were still a little dry.  So before serving I popped them in the microwave for 30 seconds and they were warm, moist and delicious! 

If you don’t have mini bundt pans you could bake these in a regular bundt pan.  I had quite a bit of batter leftover after making my 6 mini cakes.

 

Orange Chocolate Buttermilk Bundt Cakes recipe slightly adapted from The Sweet Art

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 200 ml buttermilk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Zest from 2 oranges

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease Bundt pans with non stick spray or vegetable shortening.

Zest the oranges into the sugar and rub with your fingers until the sugar is very fragrant.

 Cream the butter and the orange infused sugar for 2-3 minutes until light and fluffy, beat in the eggs one at a time followed by the oil and vanilla extract.

 Add in the rest of the ingredients with the mixer on low-speed.

Pour batter into your bundt pan and bake till a tester comes out with crumbs or clean. (Time will depend on the size of you pan.  50-60 minutes for a full size cake and somewhere between 30-40 for the miniature pans.  I would begin checking miniature pans at about 25 minutes)  Cake should spring back when gently pressed.

Let cakes cool in the pan for about 15 minutes.  Gently release the edges of the cake using your fingers and then rap the pan on the countertop several times to help release the cake before inverting to unmold. 

Cool cakes on a wire rack.

For the Sticky orange chocolate Glaze:

*I was out of sugar so I used about a cup of Vanilla syrup from Starbucks (I had a huge bottle)  But you can make a simple syrup with equal parts sugar and water.

  •  3/4 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cups  water
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • zest from 1 orange

Combine the water, sugar and  in a small saucepan over medium heat.  SImmer until all the sugar has dissolved.  Whisk in the orange, vanilla and cocoa powder.

Dip the cakes in the chocolate syrup and place on a wire rack over a baking sheet to catch all of the syrupy drips.

Enjoy! 

* Don’t forget you can share these posts on facebook and twitter 🙂  Just click the share button on the bottom of each post! 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 4:07 pm

    I made this cake this morning and just finished a slice. Delicious! I used the same recipe in a full size bundt pan and had it in the oven for just shy of 45 minutes. Perfect and moist. I had half a Terry chocolate orange so i made a super quick ganache with that to drizzle over the top instead of the syrup. Great recipe.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 16, 2011 6:18 pm

      The orange ganache sounds amazing! Glad the cake turned out well 🙂

  2. Melanie permalink
    August 9, 2013 5:38 am

    Just finished baking this cake, the smell is awesome! Creamy orange chocolate heaven. Hope it tastes as good!

Leave a Reply

