Skip to content

Hummingbird Cake

March 12, 2012

After taking a little bit of a break from the Secret Recipe Club I’m back in action this month and was really excited about my assigned blog Good Thymes and Good Food!  After scrolling through the recipes on very numerous occasions I finally settled on a recipe for Hummingbird Cake.  This cake is light and sweet and made with bananas, coconut and crushed pineapple.  It’s delicious! It’s believed that the name Hummingbird cake came about because hummingbirds are attracted to very sweet things.

The original recipe calls for nuts which I opted to leave out.  I don’t love nuts inside of cakes and I didn’t have any anyways 🙂  I also cut the frosting recipe in half and I still had just enough to “messy” frost the cake.

Hummingbird Cake makes 1-two tiered 9″ cake

  • 3 cups plain flour, plus more for pans
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  •  1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  •  2 tsp vanilla extract
  •  2 cups sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  •  2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 large)
  •  1 can (8 ounces) crushed pineapple, drained
  •  1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans *optional
  • 1 cup shredded coconut (you can use either sweetened or unsweetened, I used sweetened)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease 2-9″pans with shortening or line with parchment paper.

In the bowl of a mixer, beat vegetable oil with sugar and vanilla for about 2 minutes.

Add the eggs one at a time mixing well between each addition. Mix until pale yellow and fluffy.

Add the mashed bananas, crushed pineapple and coconut.

In another bowl, whisk together the flour with the baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until combined and divide the batter amongst the pans.

Bake in the centre oven rack for 30-45 minutes, or until the cake is golden brown and springs back when lightly touched in the centre.

Cool cakes for 15 minutes in the pans on wire racks.

Carefully invert pans to remove cakes and let cool completely on wire racks.

Cream Cheese Frosting (I only used a little less than half of this recipe)

  • 2 cups (16 0z room temperature cream cheese
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 8 cups of powdered sugar

Beat the butter and cream cheese together until smooth.  Beat in vanilla followed by the sugar continuing to beat until smooth.

Place the first cake on your serving plate upside down and spread about 1/3rd of the cream cheese frosting over the top.  Stack the second cake on top and frost top and sides with remaining frosting.

Share with friends 🙂

Take some time to click the blog hop link below and explore some of the other great secret recipe club posts today!

                                                                                                                               Enjoy!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 9:10 am

    I faintly recall my grandmother making a similar cake with a lot of these ingredients in it, but I think she called it her “dump everything in it cake” 🙂 looks nice! and welcome back. Check out my one ingredient ice cream for this month’s SRC.
    -Heather

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      March 12, 2012 9:18 am

      Love it! I’m totally going to call this cake the “dump everythingin it cake” the next time I make and serve this! 🙂

  2. March 12, 2012 9:52 am

    This is my husband’s favorite cake! I’m so glad that you liked it. It looks amazing!

  3. March 12, 2012 10:28 am

    This reminds me of a friend who loves hummingbird cake! It looks wonderful. Sorry, but I’d have to have the nuts in mine! 🙂

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      March 12, 2012 8:21 pm

      If I had of had some nuts on hand I would have used nuts on the outside of the cake….but I still would have left them out of the inside lol 🙂

  4. March 12, 2012 11:04 am

    I never thought I’d think “tropical” and “cake” in the same thought, but you seem to have pulled it off. Looks very, very tasty. Wow.

  5. March 12, 2012 11:31 am

    The name of this recipe had me curious, but I am SO glad that I checked it out! I am living in Hawaii right now and this would be perfect for me! Great being a part of SRC with you. Would love you to stop by and check out my Mango Avocado Salsa from my assigned blogger, Jeanette’s Healthy Living. =)

  6. March 12, 2012 11:48 am

    Yum! I’ve always wanted to try to make a Hummingbird Cake! Yours looks scrumptious!
    Jo-Anna

  7. March 12, 2012 12:11 pm

    That sounds delicious. Like a carrot cake without the carrots:).

  8. March 12, 2012 1:36 pm

    I’ve made hummingbird cupcakes but never the full cake. The flavors in this cake as just awesome-I can’t wait to try it!

  9. March 12, 2012 3:29 pm

    Oh my goodness 🙂 That sounds delightful! 🙂

  10. March 12, 2012 6:17 pm

    My friend and I were just talking about having a Hummingbird Cake this afternoon and here you have shared a beautiful Hummingbird Cake. This is a great recipe. It is fun cooking with you at the SRC and have a great week!
    Miz Helen

  11. March 12, 2012 6:17 pm

    I love a good Hummingbird Cake. My husband’s granny used to make this. I think I will take this to a party this weekend. Glad you posted it.

  12. March 12, 2012 7:52 pm

    Your “messy” sure looks delicious.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Group ‘A’ SRC entry: Broiled Sushi.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  13. March 12, 2012 7:53 pm

    That cake sounds heavenly good.

  14. March 13, 2012 10:57 am

    I love the picture! Very well done. Now I want a piece of cake!

  15. March 13, 2012 2:43 pm

    Gosh there’s a lot of banana recipes in our SRC group this month. Not my fave, but your photos are gorgeous! I hope you’ll stop by Seasonalpotluck.com this month. Its artichoke month, and I’d love if you’d link up your artichoke recipes! http://bit.ly/zRfNjo

  16. March 13, 2012 4:02 pm

    I was curious about what a “hummingbird” cake is, and after reading your description and the list of ingredients I can definitely say that this sounds perfect for me. Coconut and pineapples are two of my favourites. Mmm!

  17. March 14, 2012 5:37 am

    I have no idea why I’ve never made a hummingbird cake – love all the ingredients! Will have to correct that very soon. Welcome back to the group and love your photo!!

    I hope you’ll stop by and visit my SRC post for Chewy Oatmeal Raisin and Almond Cookies

    🙂
    ButterYum

  18. March 14, 2012 2:31 pm

    Looks fabulously tastey!!! Welcome back to the world of baking!

  19. March 14, 2012 8:31 pm

    I’ve heard so much about this cake, I can’t wait to try it! Yours looks absolutely divine!

  20. March 15, 2012 8:10 am

    I’ve heard a lot about this cake but I have never tried it. It looks great! 🙂

  21. March 15, 2012 6:24 pm

    i was intrigued by the whimsical name of this cake! i’m glad you explained where the name came from 🙂 looks fantastic! i’m not much of a fan of shredded coconut – i wonder if you could get the same flavor by adding/subbing coconut milk?

    happy src reveal from a group D member!

  22. March 19, 2012 9:46 am

    I haven’t tried this cake but it’s been on my mind lately, yours looks delicious and so moist

  23. Nicole permalink
    April 4, 2013 3:31 pm

    I made this for Easter and it was AMAZING!!!! I’m so in love with it!! And everyone loved it as we’ll! My new favorite cake!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 7, 2013 12:33 pm

      I”m glad the hummingbird cake was enjoyed by all! I’d like to make some soon in cupcake form 🙂

  24. Marie permalink
    August 26, 2013 2:47 pm

    This turned out amazing… Although deff using more pineapple next time 🙂

Leave a comment