Skip to content

Flour Tortillas

March 27, 2012

Okay, so I know I mentioned French crullers a few posts back…I did make them, the ones that I fried at the correct temperature for the correct amount of time were delicious and I ate more than I’d like to disclose ….that post is coming, I promise but I until I get to that I thought you should know about these:

You can make your own flour tortillas at home and they’re REALLY easy!  They also cost a fraction of what you would pay in the grocery store and you’re guaranteed no preservatives or strange ingredients that seem to keep them “fresh” for weeks on end!

I’ve read a few different recipes for tortillas but decided to use a recipe from Taste of Home.

Flour Tortillas makes 8 (7-8″ tortillas)

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 3 tbsp olive oil

Combine all ingredients and knead the dough about 10 times or until its cohesive.

Heat a pan or electric skillet on medium-high heat and dive the dough into 8 equal portions.

On a floured surface, use a rolling pin to roll and stretch the dough into a thin tortilla 7-8 inches wide.

I cooked the tortillas in a dry pan but the original recipes suggests coating it with non stick cooking spray, I’ll let you decide what works best for you 🙂

Cook for about 1 minute on each side or until the tortilla is lightly browned.

Serve warm with your favorite filling.

Easy Peasy Right?!?!?!

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2012 3:46 pm

    These look delicious! I have been wanting to make my own tortillas for a while, great recipe!

  2. March 27, 2012 3:51 pm

    I will definitely be trying this! They are so expensive in the stores I they are so yummy! Thanks for posting 🙂

  3. Falan permalink
    March 27, 2012 6:08 pm

    How easy is that……Bye bye store bought.

  4. March 30, 2012 3:42 pm

    I had no idea it was this easy! I’ll be doing this over the weekend! 🙂

    tashainthekitchen.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

