Skip to content

The Very Hungry Caterpillar 1st Birthday Party

March 9, 2012

Image

This past weekend we celebrated my little man’s 1st birthday with a great big very Hungry Caterpillar party!

If you’re not familiar with the story book by Eric Carle, the plot is simple….each day of the week the caterpillar eats through a new food and he’s STILL HUNGRY….he eats through apples, pears, plums. pranges, strawberries, on Saturday he eats through chocolate cake, a cupcake, a slice of cherry pie, a lollipop, a pickle, some cheese, a sausage, an ice cream cone, some salami….in the very end he wraps up into a cocoon and transforms into a beautiful butterfly! Image

Image

I thought it would be fun to have all of foods from the book at the party, all of the kids had a great time and the birthday boy LOVED his cake!

I think this was my best fondant job so far!  I tried a new recipe that I came across using pinterest that incorporated water into the marshmallows and I was very pleased with how easily it rolled so thin.  It will definitely be my new go to recipe from now on!  If you’d like to give it a try, you can find the recipe I used at A Spicy Perspective  Recipe can be found HERE.  I’m also finding that using a buttercream that’s 50/50 butter and shortening holds up really well under the fondant!

Image

I replaced the labels on water bottles to match the theme.  Printed out pictures on regular computer paper and applied to the bottles with clear packing tape

Image

I crafted a pinata with a balloon and some paper mache, decorated with red streamers to look like a strawberry.

The pinata was filled with bug shaped fruit snacks for the older kids and raisins for the babes.  Each baby got to wear a hungry caterpillar bib at the party and then took it home as a “thanks for coming”

Image

I’m going to make an effort to get some more recipes posted this coming week!  French Cruellers coming up soon!

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 9:59 am

    What an awesome cake!! Your little guy is very cute. 🙂

  2. awwwwinspired permalink
    March 19, 2012 8:05 am

    Camden is absolutely ADORABLE and I can’t believe he is 1 already! Yikes! Hope you had a fabulous day!!! Katie, you did a wonderful job on the party! LOVE the theme and LOVE your cake, you did one fabulous job!!!

  3. Sarah Stolz permalink
    April 5, 2012 1:02 pm

    Hey Katie – So someone I love just told me that they are 3 months preggers. They have started decorating the nursery in a Hungry Caterpillar theme. I would absolutely LOVE to buy off of you any of the Hungry Caterpillar things you’ve made. Baby is due in October. I would be shipping the items to Toronto. I love the bibs! Would you be up to making me some? Is there any other ideas/items you may be able to whip up that I could buy from you? There is no rush of course!

    I personally am looking for a hungry caterpillar crossstitch kit to make for them as cross stitch is my thing. Any ideas where I might buy one? I also saw some knit hungry caterpillar food items online but I couldn’t figure out where to buy them from. Any ideas? 🙂

    I hope you are doing well! 🙂 huge hugs! 🙂

    Sarah

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 15, 2012 5:38 pm

      Hi Sarah,

      I just caught this comment now, so i’m sorry for the delay in reply! I can certainly do up some bibs for you if you’d like,i’ll have to take a look and see how much polka dot fabric i’ve got left! 🙂 I’ll see what else I can come up with too and i’ll send you a msg through fb! 🙂

Leave a Reply

