Skip to content

Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies

August 29, 2011

This just may be my new favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie.

It’s made with butter AND cream cheese.

It’s dense, chewy, chocolatey and very delicious.

I had half a package of cream cheese that needed to be used up and I really wanted chocolate chip cookies so I figured surely there must be a recipe… a quick google blog search led me to baking blonde and a really delicious recipe that’s definitely being added to my regular cookie repertoire!

Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe from BakingBlonde

  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened (recipe called for 5-6 but I only had 4)
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups plus 3 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment

Cream together the butter, cream cheese and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add the Vanilla.

Sift together dry ingredients and then add them to the butter mixture.  Beat until well combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.

*original recipe suggests chilling the dough overnight but I made them right away

Place a large scoop (about 2 tbsp) on the prepared cookie sheet and flatten slightly with your hand.

Bake 12-14 minutes or until edges are looking light golden brown.

Cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheets before moving to wire racks to cool completely.

Enjoy!

73 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 9:27 am

    I love cream cheese in anything. This looks great!

  2. September 1, 2011 11:33 pm

    Wow, what a great idea! Never would have thought to add it to cookie dough. And it makes them look just like the ones at the store-so pretty!

  3. September 6, 2011 12:32 pm

    Those sound so good!

  4. September 15, 2011 4:43 pm

    those cookies look like they would be super soft! Great looking cookies!

  5. September 15, 2011 10:38 pm

    i used this recipe last night and it came out AWESOME! so .. thanks 🙂
    i’d definitely recommend making these cookies if you like cream cheese & chocolate combo!

  6. Jasmine permalink
    September 17, 2011 9:13 am

    i added a dash of Cinnamon and they were doubly amazing:D try it sometime:D

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 17, 2011 9:50 am

      I will try cinnamon the next time for sure!!

  7. September 17, 2011 1:00 pm

    très bon

  8. Julie permalink
    September 18, 2011 11:14 am

    Oh my. I didn’t need a new favorite cookie recipe, but I will make an exception with this one! So easy and delicious and dense and chewy and addictive. Plus, the no-egg recipe is great for guilt free dough consumption 😉 Gracias to the person that posted this link on Facebook!

  9. September 18, 2011 1:20 pm

    Cream cheese and melted butter? How interesting. I’ll have to try it.

  10. September 18, 2011 3:44 pm

    Cream cheese is one of my favorite ingredients. I don’t think there has ever been a recipe with it in it that wasn’t wonderful. Can’t wait for these!

  11. Amanda permalink
    September 18, 2011 7:57 pm

    These are great, but I think there’s supposed to be an egg in the recipe… I added one and the second batch turned out better!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 18, 2011 8:09 pm

      I love the recipe as is without the addition of any eggs, I love that their so dense and chewy but I love that you’ve found an addition that works well for you!

    • Faye permalink
      September 25, 2011 5:44 pm

      The original recipe was created for a child with food allergies. That is why it contains no eggs. 🙂
      They are still yummy!!

  12. September 19, 2011 2:26 pm

    Cool idea, I can’t wait to try it. I wonder if the taste is anything like cheese cake. Joe smokehousegrills.com for catering san Diego

  13. September 19, 2011 3:25 pm

    How do you get your cookies so perfectly circular!? Do you flatten them on the baking tray before they go in the oven?
    Take a look at my attempt at chocolate chip cookies:
    http://sugarandsliceandallthingsnice.blogspot.com/2011/09/cookie-monster.html
    Love, Sugar and Slice

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 19, 2011 3:32 pm

      I use a cookie dough scoop like the ones in this post https://betchacanteatjustone.wordpress.com/2010/03/26/im-lovin-the-dough-scoop-and-my-favorite-chocolate-chip-cookie/
      If my cookies come out of the oven looking too “puffy” I sort of drop the cookie sheet with the hot cookies on the counter a few times so they delflate a little bit which works great as long they’re a little bit underbaked. I”m not a fan of a “puffy” thick cookie!

      The cream cheese cookies have been flattened slightly before going into the oven as well!

      Thanks for your comments 🙂

    • September 22, 2011 9:52 am

      I personally just roll my cookie dough by hand into little balls, and then bake them. It works really well, just a little messy. I should give the scoops a try though, I never thought to use them. They look like Ice cream scoops 🙂

  14. September 20, 2011 11:41 am

    I can’t wait to try this recipe! Cream cheese makes everything better so putting it in chocolate chip cookies is pure genius! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  15. September 20, 2011 12:21 pm

    These cookies are so perfect!! I never tried cream cheese in cookies. Can we freeze them after

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 20, 2011 12:48 pm

      I would imagine that these cookies would freeze quite well….they don’t last long enough around here to freeze though! 🙂

  16. Julia permalink
    September 20, 2011 7:00 pm

    so yummy! I just made them (and ate almost all of them!) They were very easy to make and even more delicious then I could have imagined. Awesome, Thank you.

  17. Kayleigh permalink
    September 21, 2011 12:22 pm

    I am getting ready to pop these in the oven! My roommate and coworkers are so excited! I know they are going to turn out so delicious because I tried the dough and it was amazing! Thanks for this recipe 🙂

  18. Shawn permalink
    September 21, 2011 4:57 pm

    This isn’t fair. I was planning on trying to eat healthy and give up most sugary foods, but I can’t. Not with knowledge of this being in existence. 😦

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 21, 2011 4:58 pm

      LOL Make a half batch? 😉

  19. September 21, 2011 11:22 pm

    I love cream cheese and chocolate. what could be bad! Look forward to trying the recipe.

  20. September 22, 2011 9:53 am

    I absolutely cannot wait to make these. They look absolutely fabulous!

  21. Jenni permalink
    September 23, 2011 11:57 am

    Im so excited to try and make these on sunday or monday 🙂

  22. Stacy permalink
    September 24, 2011 5:18 am

    Yes, you do need eggs for this recipe. Need that binder element.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 24, 2011 6:07 am

      I’m sticking to it here…lol This recipe has no eggs and produces a dense chewy cookie that is uber delicious! I’ve made it a few times now and love it just the way it is!

  23. September 24, 2011 6:32 am

    This is great! I’m always looking for new egg-less recipes since my son is allergic. Definitely pinning these, thanks for posting!

  24. September 25, 2011 7:07 pm

    Made these cookies tonight and they were absolutely amazing! So delicious!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!! 🙂

  25. Diane Barrett-Curtis permalink
    September 27, 2011 8:11 am

    Made a batch of these last night. I only had milk chocolate chips, so I used those plus some walnuts and Craisins. Excellent results. Thanks for this post.

  26. September 28, 2011 1:27 am

    Cream cheese makes everything better!

    How different do you think they’d be with the full 5-6 oz of cream cheese?

  27. Amanda permalink
    September 28, 2011 4:09 pm

    Made them last night! AMAZING!!!

  28. September 28, 2011 4:36 pm

    wow, what a treat! that picture is absolutely amazing, those cookies look totally delicious, never would’ve thought to use cream cheese, but can’t wait to test it out!

    thanks for sharing,
    megan
    http://threetwentyeight.com/

  29. alexandra permalink
    September 29, 2011 4:26 pm

    I bet this recipe is good. My favorite chocolate chip cookies are really similar, but without the cream cheese and with a few variations. I love cream cheese in brownies and frosting, but never thought about adding it to cookies. They look nice and thick, and delicious!

  30. Nikkey Taylor permalink
    October 8, 2011 6:35 am

    I just made these cookies and I think they are absolutely delicious. I used 6oz of cream cheese and let the dough sit over night. I also used chocolate vanilla morsels and white chocolate chips. I love that they aren’t cakey! Thank you for sharing!

  31. October 8, 2011 1:21 pm

    I have celiacs disease so I had to substitute gluten free flour for regular all-purpose flour and they turned out AMAZING! I took them to a picnic and nobody could believe they were gluten free. Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  32. Kate permalink
    October 13, 2011 7:35 pm

    I just made these and didn’t read that the butter was supposed to be melted. So I just made the dough like I usually do, with the butter soft enough to cream with the sugar and it worked just fine! Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

  33. Briana permalink
    October 20, 2011 3:35 pm

    They were so good!

  34. October 25, 2011 12:50 am

    Oh my! that makes me drool.=D

  35. Christine.R permalink
    November 3, 2011 7:11 am

    These babies are absolute beauties! Very moist & delicious! I made them last night & I added an egg! Thank you for the recipe! You are a darling for sharing!! :D…<3

  36. Alicia permalink
    December 10, 2011 12:27 pm

    A guy at work made these for a recent bake sale fundraiser we had and they were delicious. My kids decided these would be the recipe we made for santa this year. Just got the first cookie tray out of the oven and they look AMAZING! Can’t wait to try them. Thanks for the easy recipe :-))

  37. Sara permalink
    December 21, 2011 10:20 pm

    These were so good, thank you! I added a little bit more than 4 ounces of cream cheese, but they were sooo good.

  38. Liz permalink
    January 5, 2012 10:35 am

    Just made these cookies. I followed the recipie exactly. Very Good! The true critics will be home from school soon. Thanks for sharing.

  39. kelcey permalink
    January 11, 2012 8:35 pm

    These are amazing! I am officially that mom with the best chocolate chip cookies! Thanks 🙂

  40. January 19, 2012 2:32 pm

    Wow, these look superb!

  41. Grace permalink
    January 19, 2012 9:39 pm

    How many cookies does this recipe make?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 19, 2012 10:29 pm

      good question! I’m trying to get into the habit of adding the recipe yield as people have began asking but I honestly can’t remember…you should be able to get about 4 dozen cookies though, depending on size!

  42. Grace permalink
    January 20, 2012 6:06 am

    I was able to get about 3-4 dozen cookies using about 1 tbsp of dough per cookie. If I used the recommended 2 tbsp of dough, I think I would’ve only gotten 18 cookies or so. The cookies were tasty although a little too sweet for me. Next time, I will cut the sugar by at least 25%. They were also super greasy as my parchment paper and baking sheet were soaked with butter after baking.

    • January 20, 2012 10:56 am

      Thanks for the info on the amount of cookies the recipe yielded! I’ve not had an issue with them being greasy, was your oven up to temperature when they started baking? That’s really the only thing I can think of that may cause them to leave so much fat behind?

  43. January 27, 2012 6:11 am

    I have been making something similar with the addition of egg and grated orange zest for over 50 years (a recipe handed down by my grandmother). Yes, they do freeze well because my mother used to freeze them in tins in the utility room freezer and my father (in his 90’s) would sneak in the back door (daylight basement) and eat them straight out of the tin. Mom would go down to find a tin to thaw and it would be empty.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 27, 2012 9:05 am

      What a fantastic story Jenny! Grated orange zest sounds delicious, I will have to give it a try!

  44. February 11, 2012 7:04 pm

    This looks yummy! I might have to try this for valentines this week!

  45. Angela permalink
    March 17, 2012 4:38 pm

    Have made these twice now and they turned out great!

  46. Joe Schneberger permalink
    May 4, 2012 1:21 pm

    I did half the mix with no egg as stated and half with a small egg. Let me tell you if you like the denser more gooey type cookie go as is. If your looking for a more cakey type like other recipes then go with the egg as all it did was make it fluffier.Some said in other reviews the cream cheese makes it cakey but they are wrong it is the egg. I also did a mix with no egg and two tbs of orange rind zest and those are also very good if you like a slight hint of orange flavor just another way to enjoy this recipe. So eggless is the way to go here..

    • Joe Schneberger permalink
      May 4, 2012 1:24 pm

      I also used a butter sub smart balance and cut it to 1/2 cup and used more fat free cream cheese a full 8 oz every time I have made them to get rid of some of the fat and seems to be just fine. a gooey dense cookie.

  47. Linda permalink
    December 7, 2012 5:22 pm

    First of all, YUM! I just made these today, but added egg and used 2 cups of chocolate chips. I also raised my oven temp to 375, because I like my cookies a little brown! They came out delicious! I love the cream cheese flavor. I am not a chocolate chip cookie lover, but these I love! My grandson graded them 100 %!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      December 7, 2012 10:50 pm

      I’m glad they turned out so well for you! I will have to try adding an egg!

  48. Lynne Smith permalink
    December 31, 2012 9:21 pm

    I was looking for a reciepe for some cream cheese cookies and found this one. All I have is white chocolate and buttetscotch chips, and want to add pecans. Do you think those flavors will taste o with the cream cheese ? I am going to try the eggless version. Thanks for the idea.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 1, 2013 9:02 am

      white chocolate, butterscotch and pecan sounds like a great combination with the cream cheese! Enjoy!

  49. Rainbow permalink
    April 9, 2013 1:49 pm

    Yum… Have made this several time now. It definitely my cookies to impress recipe!! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 9, 2013 1:50 pm

      Thanks for the comment 🙂 This makes me happy!

  50. Jackie permalink
    April 14, 2013 1:58 pm

    Just made these. Hot out of the oven. Can I just say…… OMG!!!! Yummy!!!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe. My mother in-law is already asking for it!!!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 14, 2013 2:09 pm

      I haven’t made these is quite some time and I really should bust out the cream cheese again 🙂 Glad you enjoyed!

  51. Pamela Page permalink
    September 25, 2013 7:23 pm

    Wow! I had a half block of cream cheese and didn’t want to put it back into the fridge to dry out. I searched and found this GLORIOUSLY DELICIOUS recipe! I added 2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips and a bag of toffee bits. They turned out perfectly! Definitely did not need any eggs and were, by far, the best cookie recipe I’ve tried in quite a while. A definite keeper!

Trackbacks

  1. | Best Mixer Review
  2. Your Questions About Gluten And Dairy Free Recipes | Gluten Free Guide
  3. Baking Cookies from scratch -
  4. Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Cookies | VeggieConverter
  5. Week & End | Coffee & Tacos

Leave a comment