Skip to content

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

January 14, 2013

001

 This good old-fashioned peanut butter cookie recipe comes courtesy of Suzanne from “Thru the bugs on my Windshield” and is my pick for the Secret Recipe Club this month.

With so many new crazy amazing cookie recipes floating around it is sometimes easy to forget about classic, simple, delicious cookies such as this peanut butter cookie.

Crisp on the outside with a little bit of a dense chew in the middle,

if these are not already a favorite in your house I have no doubt that they will be added to your list of favorite cookies!

Peanut Butter Cookies makes 2-3 dozen depending on size recipe from Thru the Bugs on My Windshield

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (I used adam’s natural pb but your favorite brand will do)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla (out of vanilla?? They still taste awesome without it)
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

 Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cream together the butter, peanut butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Mix in the egg and beat until well combined.

Add the vanilla.

Mix in the dry ingredients until the dough comes together.

Roll dough into balls, or use a cookie scoop.  You can make these any size you like, just adjust the baking time accordingly.  My cookies were about 1.5 tbsp of dough.

Use the tines of a fork to smush the cookies down in a criss cross pattern.

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.

Cool on pan for a few minutes before removing to wire racks to cool.

003

Enjoy…and don’t forget to click the linky below and check out what the other SRC members from group B have posted this month!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2013 9:14 am

    We just love a great Peanut Butter Cookie, these look wonderful. Great recipe for the SRC and thanks for sharing.
    Miz Helen

  2. January 14, 2013 9:38 am

    A classic cookie to bring you back to your cookie roots after all the complex cookies from the holidays. nicely done.

  3. January 14, 2013 9:56 am

    A simple perfect cookie! Nothing better than peanut butter. Great cooking with you in the SRC!

  4. January 14, 2013 11:16 am

    You just can’t beat a classic peanut butter cookie. Yum! And, may I just say, your photographs are really beautiful. Great job, great choice!

  5. January 14, 2013 3:08 pm

    peanut butter cookies! mmmm…

  6. January 14, 2013 6:29 pm

    These look great. Peanut butter cookies are a true favorite.

  7. January 14, 2013 6:30 pm

    Three cheers for peanut butter cookies.

  8. January 14, 2013 6:38 pm

    The pictures are gorgeous and I agree that we all need little reminders of those simple perfect cookies.

  9. January 14, 2013 9:08 pm

    Katie you flatter me with your simplistic approach and gorgeous photographs. I’m so glad you enjoyed the cookies. They have always been some of my very favorite cookies and make me think of a time when I was young and mom and I used the fork to put the “design” on the top. Great job!!! Thank you so much!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 14, 2013 9:11 pm

      My Pleasure Suzanne! I made them twice as the first were eaten before i had good enough light to photograph them so the second time I just whipped up a small batch and my husband was un impressed that I only made one pan! I’d like to try them next using Almond butter as my daughters classroom is peanut free!

  10. January 16, 2013 10:35 am

    I was planning to bake cookies tonight. Looks like I’ll be trying these! They look beautiful and I just love peanut butter cookies. You are right that we tend to forget this tried and true cookie. Thanks for the reminder!

  11. January 22, 2013 5:08 am

    You cant beat the classics. Your pictures look yummy, so much so that we featured your recipe on the Secret Recipe Club! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Margaret permalink
    January 30, 2013 8:08 pm

    Thanks for the fabulous recipe. Love the classics! Hope you don’t mind I added chia seeds in attempt to reduce guilt factor as we were in need of a treat tonight!

  13. Shelley Shield permalink
    March 11, 2013 8:52 am

    My son, husband & self are addicted to these. I make them in triple batches, & I am sorry to say they don’t last long!

  14. Doris permalink
    May 28, 2013 8:04 pm

    I’d like to make one large cookie in a pie tin. How do I adjust the baking soda accordingly?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      May 28, 2013 9:07 pm

      Hi Doris, I would not adjust the amount of baking soda in the recipe, just the baking time. I can`t give you a baking time but would suggest you check on the large “cookie pie” periodically until it is golden brown on the edges and appears done in the middle.

Trackbacks

  1. Classic Peanut Butter Cookies: Betcha Can’t Eat Just One | The Secret Recipe Club
  2. Healthy Way To Cook - June 12: National Peanut Butter Cookie Day

Leave a comment