Skip to content

Sweet Cheddar Cheese Muffins

January 12, 2013

026

If you’ve never had a sweet cheddar cheese muffin before you may think that I’m a bit crazy (I’m not even one of those crazy people who melts cheese on apple pie….I swear I’m not!)

When I was little there was a muffin shop in the mall called Mmmmmarvelous muffins and they made the best chocolate chip muffins and also a really tasty cheddar cheese muffin.  You might have expected it to be savory but it wasn’t savory at all, the muffin was sweet and laced with sharp cheddar cheese with a good dose of bubbly crunchy cheddar on top.

So so good.

I wanted to create something similar and I believe I’ve hit the mark.  I was a little bit heavy on the sugar and next time might reduce to 3/4 or even 1/2 cup and see how that turns out but my husband was a little bit crazy over these muffins just the way they were.  I also meant to sneak just a pinch of nutmeg into these but it slipped my mind as I was mixing them up.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be throwing some more of these together fairly soon!

Sweet Cheddar Cheese Muffins makes 12  recipe adapted from A passion for Baking

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2.5 cups all purpose flour (plus 2 tbsp for the cheese)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated plus more for topping the muffins

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and have the oven rack on the highest section of the oven.

Line 12 muffin wells with parchment liners or grease the muffin tins with shortening.

In a large bowl, beat the sugar with the oils until well combined.

Add the eggs one a time, beating well after each addition until smooth.

Sift together the flour with the baking powder, soda, salt and nutmeg.

Stir the flour mixture into the butter/sugar/eggs until just combined.

Be sure to scrape the bottom and edges of the bowl with a spatula to be sure everything has bee mixed in!

Stir in the buttermilk and sour cream until the batter is just combined,  Don’t over mix the muffins!

Toss the grated cheese with the remaining 2 tbsp of flour so it doesn’t all clump together when you add it to the batter.

Stir in the cheese and then scoop batter into prepared muffin tins.

Top with grated cheddar.

Place the oven rack in the highest portion of the oven to get a nice high muffin top.

Bake for 15 minutes before reducing the oven down to 350 and continue to bake for another 10-12 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly and the edges are turning a light golden brown.

Let muffins cool slightly in pans before removing to cool completely.

027

Enjoy!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2013 10:45 pm

    Awww, this is so terrific!I really loved your bakes! =)

    • Darcie permalink
      June 27, 2015 9:38 am

      I used to love those sweet cheddar cheese muffins from mmmmmmuffin as well, I tried this recipe and it turned out great Thank you

  2. Priscilla permalink
    January 18, 2013 5:59 am

    THANK YOU!! It seemed impossible trying to find a sweet cheese muffin recipe like Mmmmmarvelous Muffins’ cheese muffins! Now I just need to buy a crown muffin pan to get that mmmarvelous crispy edge!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 18, 2013 2:55 pm

      oh my goodness, I totally hope they meet your expectations now LOL I would recommend cutting the sugar back a bit as these were a little sweeter than I had wanted them to be! Hope you enjoy!

  3. moonita permalink
    October 1, 2013 4:16 pm

    Thank you for the recipe! I wonder if these can be made into a cupcake. If so, what adjustment(s) should be made?

  4. October 14, 2013 4:55 am

    Love these muffins, and they were a hit. I chose them for my SRC reveal this month, just wanted to let you know and I’ve made them twice now.

  5. February 6, 2014 4:38 am

    It looks sooooo yumm!!!! I’m gonna try to make this tomorrow. I don’t have sour cream, is there any substitute or i can just omit it?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 6, 2014 9:59 am

      You could use yogurt in place of sour cream.

      • February 10, 2014 8:11 am

        Great! Thx a bunch. I’ll let u know how they turned up 🙂

  6. Beenita N permalink
    May 28, 2020 1:32 pm

    I’ve made these a couple times and they are always a hit. I am wondering if you can add apples to this recipe?

    • Beenita N permalink
      June 1, 2020 11:23 am

      I tried making these delicious muffins with apples and it worked!! I was worried that it wouldn’t turn out, but they did….YAY!!

      Anyway, I added it to the buttermilk & sour cream then put it in the batter. I also added a tiny bit of cinnamon too since it goes so well with apples.

      The apples I used were called Lady Alice; I think they might be my new favourite cooking/baking apple….good flavour and stays firm after baking.

Trackbacks

  1. Sid's cooking again...

Leave a comment