Skip to content

Glazed Zucchini Lime Cookies for the SRC

July 16, 2012

It’s been over a month since I’ve blogged something!

Life has been busy as per usual during the summer months.  We went on an epic road trip in June (Vancouver Island B.C.  to Bemidji MN) with 3 kids in tow!   I skipped out of the secret recipe club for a month but am glad to say I’m back in action and you can expect some more regular posts coming soon 🙂

This month’s recipe comes from Miz Helen’s Country Cottage.  I selected frosted zucchini cookies but made a few changes to the recipe to better reflect the flavours of summer.  I skipped the warm fall spices and used lime zest instead.  I also opted to give the cookies a nice thin glaze made of lime juice and powdered sugar.  This is a light, cake like cookie that my kids seemed to really enjoy and I hope that you do to!

Zucchini Lime Cookies recipe adapted from Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

  • zest of two limes
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil * you can also try replacing some of the oil with applesauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups all purpose flour

for the glaze

  • juice of two limes
  • about a cup of powdered sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment.

Grate the zucchini and blot it with a paper towel to absorb some of the liquid.

Rub the lime zest and the sugar together until fragrant.

Add the oil and egg and mix well until combined.  Add vanilla.

Sift the dry ingredients together and mix until combined.

Scoop dough by rounded teaspoons onto cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes or until cookies feel resistant to the touch and are golden brown around the edges.

Cool cookies for 5 minutes on the pan before removing the a wire rack.

While cookies are cooling, juice the limes into a bowl and mix sifted powdered sugar into the juice with a whisk until you have a smooth but runny glaze.

Using a pastry brush, paint the glaze on the cooled cookies and let dry.

Enjoy!

Click on the blog hop link below to check out all of the other great submissions from Group B!


17 Comments leave one →
  1. Owen's Mom permalink
    July 16, 2012 9:02 am

    Happy Monday! I am excited to tell you that I was selected to bake off your delicious blog this month and chose your Root Beer Bundt Cake! http://adventuresinallthingsfood.blogspot.com/2012/07/root-beer-bundt-cake-secret-recipe-club.html

    Love Miz Helen’s recipes and will have to check out these zucchini lime cookies. 🙂

  2. July 16, 2012 9:20 am

    Zucchini in cookies?! Fascinating! Would love to try these and see how they really taste! Can you taste the zucchini?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 16, 2012 9:28 am

      zucchini is pretty neutral tasting, a good way to sneak a little bit of veggie in and it the green looks so pretty!

      • July 18, 2012 4:36 pm

        I’ve got to try making them! Definitely a brilliant way to sneak some extra veggies in!

  3. July 16, 2012 10:34 am

    They look perfect and so delicious. I’m just waiting for a couple zucchinis to start baking bread, but this recipe is going to be first up!

  4. July 16, 2012 10:41 am

    Oh these sound wonderful! I love adding zucchini to any kind of desserts!

  5. July 16, 2012 11:21 am

    I’m going to be overwhelmed from my zucchini plant this year, so thanks for another recipe to use them in!

  6. July 16, 2012 11:42 am

    I love the lime glaze and these cookies are right in time for zucchini season. Great choice

  7. July 16, 2012 12:44 pm

    Love sneaking in those veggies! Looks great!

  8. July 16, 2012 1:57 pm

    The cookies look beautiful. I’ve never thought about combining lime and zucchini. Great job!

  9. July 16, 2012 2:00 pm

    Love the addition of zucchini. I never thought to put that in a cookie. Brilliant! Great pick for the SRC!

  10. July 16, 2012 2:23 pm

    Hi Katie,
    I have been looking for who had my blog today and never could find it until now. I didn’t recognize the recipe title as being from my blog. Your Glazed Zucchini Lime Cookies look delicious, they will be a great summertime cookie, I will have to give them a try sometime. Hope you are having a great SRC day!
    Miz Helen

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 16, 2012 3:14 pm

      I look forward to trying the original spiced version of these once the fall weather kicks in! It’s amazing how much a cookie can change by swapping out an ingredient!

  11. July 17, 2012 9:39 am

    wow, those cookies look so delicious, I have used zucchini in my bakes but never made a cookies, thanks for sharing, I would love to try these out, thanks for choosing this for SRC

  12. July 17, 2012 8:34 pm

    I love how you switched up the recipe to be more summery …. they look great!

  13. July 20, 2012 8:00 pm

    I make a very similar glazed lemon zucchini cookie and they are wonderful. Great SRC choice.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my group “A” SRC entry: Double Chocolate Mousse Cake.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  14. Ashley permalink
    June 28, 2013 4:41 pm

    These are delicious!

Leave a comment