Skip to content

Blackberry Lemon Zucchini Cake

August 22, 2011

For this month’s secret recipe club assignment I was assigned the blog Cook with Sara.  I had a really tough time chosing which recipe to make as she has so many to choose from until a friend showed up with a giant zucchini…

I searched Sara’s index of recipes for a zucchini dessert and came across a Lemon Blueberry zucchini Cake.  My kiddos had just finished up the last of the blueberries for a snack so I decided to use blackberries instead.  I also strayed a little bit from Sara’s recipe by using melted butter in place of the oil (I was all out of vegetable oil) and I also left the peel on the zucchini as I like the colour and wanted it to be recognizable in the cake.  

The cake is topped with a delicious cream cheese frosting and I look forward to enjoying a piece with a cup of tea. 

If you’re interested in the SRC you can check out the website for all the yummy details!  My group was hosted this month by Tina (Mom’s Crazy Cooking)

Lemon Blueberry Zucchini Cake

  •  3 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup melted butter
  • 1 tsp lemon extract (optional)
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 cups blackberries

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a bundt pan with non stick pray and set aside.

In a large bowl beat together the melted butter with the sugar, eggs, lemon zest and zucchini.  Add in the lemon extract and make sure everything is well mixed.

Mix together the dry ingredients and add them to the wet ingredients.  Mix until everything is well incorporated.  Carefully fold in the blackberries and pour into the prepared pan.

Bake 60-75 minutes or until a  pick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Remove from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes.  Give the pan a few good taps on the counter to help loosen the cake.  Continue to cool for another 10 minutes before inverting onto a serving plate to cool completely.

To make frosting:  beat butter and cream cheese until smooth.  Add the sugar and lemon extract. 

Top cake with frosting and store uneaten cake in the fridge.

check out what the other members whipped up this month! 

  Enjoy!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 4:52 am

    YUM, It looks so pretty. I made a wild blueberry zucchini cake a couple months ago. Man was it good. We have an abundence of blackberries right now and zucchini so I should make one of these.

  2. August 22, 2011 6:30 am

    Looks great!! I love the idea of using blackberries – I will have to try that next time!

  3. August 22, 2011 6:43 am

    Look amazing!!! Love it!! gloria

  4. August 22, 2011 6:50 am

    Blackberry cake? Won’t all of the little number-keys get stuck in your teeth?

    (yes, worst baking joke ever)

    your cake looks delicious. The berries with lemon must make an awesome sweet and tart flavour.

  5. August 22, 2011 7:30 am

    That is one kicked up zucchini cake, beautiful. If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Group ‘A” ~ SRC recipe this month: Cilantro Lime Chicken

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  6. August 22, 2011 9:29 am

    Hello fellow Canadian! This cake looks so yummy – I love anything with zucchini! Pretty photos too!
    Jo-Anna

  7. August 22, 2011 10:34 am

    This looks beautiful. I love the bright green zucchini running through each slice. The cream cheese frosting puts this on a whole other level for me. Yum!

  8. August 22, 2011 1:47 pm

    This looks AMAZING!!! Love that you can see the zucchini in there (nice touch!) and cream cheese frosting? Yes, please!!!

  9. August 22, 2011 2:43 pm

    Oh yum, that looks and sounds fantastic! Please send me a piece! 😉

  10. August 22, 2011 3:13 pm

    mouthwatering – great pictures! It sounds delicious too…Theresa

  11. August 22, 2011 5:51 pm

    YUM…this looks delish! Great choice for SRC this month!

    Oooh YUM…funnel cakes remind me of the state fair!

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to drop by my blog and check out my SRC recipe this month: Chocolate Cobbler

    Jennifer @ Jane Deere

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      August 22, 2011 5:55 pm

      I did check out thaT CHOCOLATE COBBLER AND IT LOOKS AMAZING! 🙂

  12. August 22, 2011 6:38 pm

    I LOVE the look of the frosting. It looks so perfect!

    Thanks again for being a part of SRC and being a part of my first group, I appreciate the link back to MOMS CRAZY COOKING, I enjoyed being your host! Now, I get to visit everyone’s blog, THIS IS THE FUN PART!

    If you haven’t already, come check out my Secret Recipe Club Post: Cucumber Salad http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/2011/08/cucumber-salad-secret-recipe-club.html

    or my second post for the SRC Raspberry and Nutella Pizza
    http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/2011/08/raspberry-nutella-pizza-secret-recipe.html

  13. August 23, 2011 11:20 am

    Love blueberries and lemon together! Your cake looks incredible!
    ~Liz

  14. August 23, 2011 7:41 pm

    Drooling over the photo of the cake slice. I love the little flecks of green from the zucchini next to the deep purple color of the blackberries. And everything is better with cream cheese frosting! Great pick for SRC.

  15. August 24, 2011 9:51 am

    This looks perfect! I would love a slice.

  16. August 24, 2011 11:11 am

    Wow that looks so incredible! Can I have a slice?! Thanks for playing along with SRC!

  17. August 26, 2011 8:27 am

    Visiting from the SRC. What a treat this cake must have been! Great job, it looks amazing!

  18. August 26, 2011 8:31 pm

    Looks great! SCR is turning out to be lots of fun — so many new recipes to try!

  19. September 1, 2011 11:35 pm

    What an absolutely GORGEOUS cake! Great job!

  20. Sacre Foie! permalink
    September 19, 2011 3:21 am

    Looks great. Will definitely try this.

  21. January 13, 2013 3:12 pm

    Your recipes are fantastic! (And the pictures are great too!) I’m finding myself liking all of your posts!

  22. Katie permalink
    September 5, 2013 8:34 am

    I made this recipe last night and WOW is it good! I am in LOVE with your Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting recipe! Unlike most Cream Cheese Frosting’s it isn’t so rich but smooth, creamy and perfectly balanced! Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe! Oh and I added lemon zest on top just for a little extra garnish and it looked and tasted wonderful!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 5, 2013 11:31 am

      So glad it turned out so fantastic for you! Thank you for the comment 🙂

Leave a comment