Skip to content

Quinoa Waffles and the Secret Recipe Club

June 13, 2011

The Secret Recipe Club.

I guess it’s not a secret now 😉 

Let’s call it the SRC. 

The way the SRC works is you sign up and then once a month fantastic Amanda sends out an e-mail assigning a blog for you to choose a recipe from.  You can chose any recipe from the assigned SRC blog and you make it and blog about it linking back to the original blog it came from so everyone can share the love and hopefully a few new readers.

I was assigned Rachel’s blog “Not Rachel Ray”

“Not Rachel Ray” has a ton of fantastic recipes and great dinner ideas but since I’m not a huge fan of photographing my dinner (it’s usually delicious but not as pretty as the baking, not to mention I usually have a hungry family that wouldn’t have enough patience for me to set up a decent photo.)  I opted for the Quinoa Pancake recipe.

  I chose the Quinoa pancakes because A.) I love Quinoa and am always looking for different ways to eat it!  and  B.) I knew with a few slight changes  I could transform it into a waffle!

Quinoa waffles are good.

Quinoa Waffles    recipe adapted from Not Rachel Ray

  • 1 cup cooked Quinoa
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp melted butter or oil (I used grape seed oil)
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup or brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

In a medium bowl, whisk together the cooked quinoa, flour, oats, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and ground flax-seed.

In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, oil, milk and syrup until smooth.  Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and whisk to combine.

Heat and oil your waffle maker.

Make waffles.

Eat Waffles.

I like mine topped with yogurt and strawberries.

This recipe makes 6 pretty hefty waffles, my husband was pretty full after finishing two.

 Enjoy!

(and feel free to browse the links below for some inspiration) 



15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 5:14 am

    Yum! What a great idea to make waffles! I love the addition of oats and cinnamon, I bet these were hefty. The quinoa makes them really filling too. I’ll have to try this 🙂

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 13, 2011 8:40 am

      This really does make for a hefty waffle but they were tasty and my kids enjoyed them as well! My husband ate two and was stuffed (in the waflle department two is usually just the first helping lol)

  2. June 13, 2011 7:55 am

    These look excellent, and are probably the healthiest waffles in existence!

  3. June 13, 2011 8:33 am

    What a great variation. I have just barely started cooking with quinoa and need to learn to take it out of the “pilaf” stage. Waffles are a great way to start.

  4. betchacanteatjustone permalink*
    June 13, 2011 9:35 am

    Huge after thought, but I betcha that quinoa flakes would make for a bit of a lighter waffle with all of the goodness of quinoa!

  5. June 13, 2011 11:19 am

    We love quinoa in this house, I will have to give both the pancakes and waffles a try. Looks great!

  6. June 13, 2011 12:06 pm

    We like waffles–this is an excuse to try a new kind!

  7. June 13, 2011 1:20 pm

    These look fantastic! I love the idea of incorporating quinoa into waffles. A great breakfast! 🙂

  8. June 13, 2011 3:14 pm

    Love your choice of Quinoa Waffles to try – lots of healthy whole grains!

  9. June 13, 2011 3:16 pm

    I would never have imagined that quinoa could be used in waffles. Thanks for teaching me something new.

  10. June 13, 2011 4:40 pm

    I have never cooked with Quinoa before but those waffles really want me to try it out! Great pick for the SRC!

  11. June 14, 2011 1:39 pm

    This is my first month in The Secret Recipe Club and it’s so much fun! I’m just loving all the new blogs and recipes I’m seeing. So happy to have found your blog.

  12. June 18, 2011 8:44 am

    I don’t usually like quinoa but I am intrigued by this recipe! I’m definitely bookmarking it!

  13. bakingdevils permalink
    June 20, 2011 1:16 pm

    I love the idea of using quinoa for waffles – just had it in a salad so far…I’ll have to give this a try at some point…will need to own a waffle maker first though 🙂

    -Shilpa

  14. May 15, 2012 6:48 pm

    I just made this. I added mashed bananas in the recipe and they are soooo yummy!!! I topped it with greek yogurt mixed with berries. And yeah, I also made pancakes 🙂

Leave a comment