Skip to content

Peanut Butter Cup Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

June 14, 2011

Dear Little Brother,

I’ve had your birthday gift sitting on my counter for just about 2 months.

Partially because I’m forgetful, and partially because I’m kind of cheap.  Canada post is expensive, cookbooks are kinda heavy.  I could use the excuse that I thought they were going to go 100% on strike and your gift would be stuck somewhere in the back of a truck for who knows how long, but I won’t.  Mom’s hopping on a ferry boat to visit with you so I’ll send it with her.  I’ll come visit soon.  I promise!

I’ll make it up to you by baking you some amazing cookies to be delivered along with your gift. 

By amazing I mean ridiculously awesome (just like you)

I know what you’re thinking…

They don’t look ridiculously awesome, they look like a chocolate chip cookie.

 But there’s a surprise hiding inside of these chocolate chip cookies!

A whole Reeses Peanut butter cup!

Make sure you have friends around to share these with because they are one heck of a cookie,

and eating more than one may leave you in a serious cookie coma!

Snack size Reeses peanut butter cups are sandwiched between two balls of chocolate chip cookie dough and then SMOOSHED together and sealed at the edges.

When baked, they spread out, hiding the peanut butter cup inside. 

They’re soft, sweet and slightly under-baked just like a good cookie should be!

Peanut Butter Cup Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe from picky-palate (she has so many super crazy recipes, you should browse!)

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 24-30 snack size reeses peanut butter cups (the ones I bought came in a package of 8…basically the halloween size)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees

Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Cream together the butter and both sugars until well combined,  2-3 minutes.  Add vanilla, followed by the eggs.  (I always wondered why my cookies didn’t spread properly, I think using room temperature eggs helps the cookies spread more evenly)

Whisk together the dry ingredients and add them to the wet ingredients, be sure to mix until everything is well combined.  Add the chocolate chips.

Place the peanut butter cup between tow balls of dough (as pictured above) Using the palm of your hands, smoosh the dough together around the PB cup and seal the edges.

Place on prepared cookie sheets (I did 8 to a pan as they’re quite large)

Bake for9-13 minutes until golden brown.  Let cool on pan for 5 minutes before removing to wire racks to cool completely.

Enjoy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 12:52 pm

    i have to say that i ate all of them in under 2 days…so good! Thanks Katie

  2. betchacanteatjustone permalink*
    June 17, 2011 12:54 pm

    When you say “all of them” you should note that I sent you 6…You didn’t eat a whole batch! lol 🙂 (but I woudln’t judge you if you did!)

  3. June 23, 2011 4:11 am

    Thanks for finding this and sharing, so yummy! It is hard to resist these!

  4. July 21, 2011 10:26 pm

    I do love chocolate and peanut butter. I’ll make this soon.

  5. dca permalink
    September 26, 2011 10:51 am

    I wonder if it would work with the pre-made cookie dough….?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 26, 2011 10:53 am

      I betcha it would 🙂 They’re also so so good made with a giant rolo instead of a pb cup! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Cocolate Chip Peanut Butter Bars « Betchacanteatjustone's Blog

Leave a Reply

