Skip to content

Chi Chi Chi Chia!

February 1, 2011

I had recently been reading about chia seeds and their super mega health benefits.

(and I can’t stop singing the “Chi Chi Chi Chia” jingle from the chia pet commercials)

If you’ve not heard of them before,  chia seeds are  extremely high in omega-3 fats, calcium, fiber, iron, vegetable protein, potassium, and vitamin C.  They are most often prepared raw.

I hadn’t purchased any seeds as I felt like they were a little pricey until I read a friend’s facebook status “waiting for chia pudding” 

Chia pudding??  

 This sounded like it might meet my desire for a low carb, protien rich delicious dessert or snack so I googled it and I was right! 

I found all sorts of yummy recipes! 

 Some made with coconut milk, with almond milk, with nut butters, with fruit and nuts….I bought the seeds! 

These teeny tiny seeds soak up a TON of liquid in just a short amount of time and are pretty tasty, I even threw some into my oatmeal at breakfast this morning!

Chocolate Chia Pudding

  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup-1 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1 rounded tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Agave nectar (to taste) 1-2 tbsp

Whisk everything together in a bowl and let sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

The seeds will expand and kind of gel up…they look like tapioca.

Eat it! 🙂

I’m excited to experiment with this!  I’m thinking that coconut milk, some shredded coconut and crushed pineapple would be super delicious. 

Or a Chai Chia pudding with vanilla almond milk and chai tea spices!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a comment