Skip to content

Cranberry Coffee Cake with Browned Butter Eggnog Glaze (I’m Lovin it)

December 7, 2012

011

This is a beautiful, simple cake with a tender crumb, a hint of nutmeg, vanilla and bright bursts of tart cranberries.

I am always leary of breaking out the bundt pan because there is no parchment paper to back me up and I have had a cakewreck on more than one occasion but think I’ve found the solution!  A few years ago I was in one of our local bakeries early in the AM and after scooping up my coffee and treat they would often let me sneak through the bakery and head out the back door.  One day they were prepping muffin tins and using a pastry brush with solid shortening to schmere around the wells of the muffin tins.  I never seem to have cooking spray in my kitchen but I always have a pastry brush and some shortening hiding out in the cupboard 🙂

I’ve not had a cake stick since!

017

I think part of what makes this cake so wonderful is the addition of Greek Yogurt to the batter.  Greek yogurt is thick and creamy with a little bit of a tang and lends this cake a lovely rich flavour.

Remember how I recently posted about how much I loved the Browned butter Eggnog Glaze from the Eggnog Chocolate Chip Bread?  I thought this cake was the perfect excuse to make it again!

023

Cranberry Coffee Cake with Browned Butter Eggnog Glaze makes 1 bundt cake recipe slightly adapted from Bake your Day

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries

for the Glaze

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2-3 tbsp eggnog

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease your bundt pan with shortening.  Using a pastry brush will help get into all of the nooks and crannies!

In a bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.

In a mixer bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. (3 minutes)

Add the eggs one at a time and mix until they’ve been incorporated.  Scrape down the bowl with a rubber spatula often.

Add the vanilla and mix.

Stir or mix in the dry mixture until just combined.

Mix in the greek yogurt until you see no more streaks of yogurt.

Fold in half of the cranberries.

Evenly spread half of the batter in your prepared pan.

Top with remaining cranberries followed by the rest of the cake batter.

Bake until the cake springs back and is a golden brown on top.  The orignal recipe suggested 50-60 minutes or baking time but this will really depend on the size and shape of your pan.  My cake took 1 hr and 25 minutes to bake as the pan was smaller but quite tall.

Let cake cool completely before unmolding.

Top with Glaze.

To make the Browned butter Eggnog glaze:

In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter.  Once melted, gently whisk the butter (it will bubble) after just a few minutes the butter will begin to develop brown speckles on the bottom of the pot and the butter will smell of caramel.   Continue to whisk until the butter is a light caramel colour and the remove it from the heat.

Let cool.

Whisk 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar into the browned butter followed by the eggnog.  You may need to add more sugar or more eggnog depending on how thick the glaze is.

Spread onto cooled cake letting the glaze drip down the edges.

Enjoy!

And don’t forget, I’m linking this post up to “I’m Lovin it” Friday over at tidymom.net so pop over and be inspired!

 I'm Lovin' It at TidyMom

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2012 8:24 am

    you had me at browned butter eggnog! YUM!
    Thanks for linking up! I featured your post in my wrap up http://tidymom.net/2012/christmas-holiday-ideas/

    Happy Holidays!

  2. Yolanda permalink
    December 9, 2012 1:15 pm

    I would really love to make this for a Christmas brunch this week, but I do not own a bundt pan. Have you tried it in a different size? Thanks!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      December 9, 2012 5:19 pm

      I have not tried this in another pan but It should bakeup just fine in a 9X13″ pan, just adjust the baking time as required.

Trackbacks

  1. 24 Christmas Holiday Ideas | TidyMom

Leave a comment