Skip to content

Snow Globe Sugar Cookies

December 11, 2012

008

Sugar cookies decorated with royal icing are one of my favorite things to make at Christmas time.

These cookies are easier than you might think.

The cookie is a basic sugar cookie, I found the recipe from Annie’s Eats years ago and it’s basically shortbread with an egg.  It’s good, it rolls easily and I don’t find that it really needs to be chilled before rolling.

I’ve used royal icing flavoured with a bit of peppermint extract.

To flood the cookie with the blue icing I’ve used the back of a teaspoon.  You can find a really old, poor tutorial here.  Basically, just put a small glob of icing on the cookie and carefully smooth it in a circle using the back of the spoon and let the icing set up.  I placed my flooded cookies on cookie sheets in front of the wood stove and they dried up super quickly!

The white icing was piped using a #2 tip and the smaller details using a #1

Eyes, mouth and buttons were added using an edible ink food colour marker by wilton.

Sugar Cookies

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups sifted flour

Cream the butter and sugar together, add the egg and the extracts and continue to beat.  Add the flour and salt and mix until everything is incorporated.

Roll the dough into a ball and flatten into a disk.

Chill until firm.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Roll dough 1/4″ thick and cut into shapes*.  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake 8-10 minutes.  The edges should not be browned.

Let Cookies cool and then frost with Royal icing.

Enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2012 10:25 am

    these are so adorable!

  2. December 11, 2012 12:11 pm

    These are adorable!

  3. December 11, 2012 3:05 pm

    Those are beautiful! I just made (and frosted) sugar cookies last week, but mine are not nearly as perfect as yours! I don’t have any decorating tools so I just had to use a spoon. But hopefully I’ll get some for Christmas!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      December 11, 2012 3:07 pm

      Thank you so much! I am hoping that Santa leaves some new piping bags in my stocking this year as I did these cookies using only one piping bag! I had to re wash it each time for a new colour!

  4. December 11, 2012 3:31 pm

    so very cute! love them!

Trackbacks

  1. If I Had Cookie Decorating Talent, This Is What I Would Make

Leave a comment