Skip to content

Peanut Butter Pie

May 12, 2013

021

Last week I was out for drinks with the girls at a local resort restaurant and someone ordered a peanut butter pie for dessert.  Cookie crust topped with a smooth peanut butter, cream cheese filling and it was topped with chocolate ganache,  it was simple, amazing and delicious!

After browsing the recipes from Sarah’s Kitchen (my Secret recipe Club assigned blog for May) I thought there was no way she’s have the recipe I was looking for but when I cruised through the Cheesecake section I found an incredibly decadent looking Peanut Butter Mousse Cheesecake!  This cheesecake is over the top,  oreo layer, a thick layer of cheesecake and then the smooth and creamy peanut butter mousse topped with peanut butter cups and a peanut butter sauce!   This is the kind of dessert I’d save for very special company, and as this has been a very busy month I just didn’t have the occasion for it, but what I did see within Sarah’s recipe was the PEANUT BUTTER PIE!

I hope that Sarah doesn’t mind I WAY simplified the recipe, but you can make this with ingredients you are likely to have around and you can even pop the leftover pie in the freezer and serve it frozen making it a great summer dessert to prepare in advance!

I hope you enjoy this peanut butter pie as much I do!

Peanut Butter Pie Recipe adapted from Sarah’s KitchenMakes one very generously filled 9″ pie

For the crust:

  • 2 cups oreo crumbs OR 2 cups crushed oreo cookies
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

For the Peanut Butter Mousse:

  • 1- 8oz package cream cheese (1 cup) room temp.
  • 2/3 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 large tub cool whip (I used 500 ml of whipping cream, measured then whipped to stiff peaks)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the oreo crumbs with the melted butter and press into the pie pan.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the crust is set.  Remove from oven and let cool.

Cream together the cream cheese and peanut butter.  I switched to a wire whisk attachment and whipped it for about 5 minutes until light and fluffy.  Mix in the powdered sugar and the milk until smooth.

Fold the whipped cream or cool whip into the peanut butter mixture.  Be gentle, and fold carefully until it is well combined.

Pour the peanut butter filling into the prepared pie crust  and chill for at least 3 hours (or freeze….I prefer it frozen)

Now you could most definitely Jazz this up with chopped peanut butter cups, chocolate fudge or ganache or some honey roasted peanuts, but as this was a weeknight dessert I decided to keep it simple.  You can be certain I will be making the full cheesecake version in the near future!

Enjoy!

Go ahead and peak at the other blogs in my Group this Month…you know you wanna 🙂

21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2013 10:28 pm

    Oooh, I’ve made this pie before so I know how good this is. Wish I had a piece of yours.

  2. May 12, 2013 10:41 pm

    Oh my – this looks (and sounds!) AMAZING!

  3. May 13, 2013 3:57 am

    Your pie turned out gorgeous!

  4. May 13, 2013 4:32 am

    It looks fairly easy, but so elegant. Great pie to make for company.

  5. May 13, 2013 4:35 am

    One of my favorite desserts. You cannot go wrong with peanut butter mousse pie. 🙂

  6. May 13, 2013 4:45 am

    I think I need to make this ASAP!! It looks delicious. Great SRC choice!

  7. May 13, 2013 8:51 am

    This pie looks incredible. And a must make. Pinned!

  8. May 13, 2013 9:48 am

    Pinned

  9. May 13, 2013 10:06 am

    I have one word for this pie: YUM. I am trying not to drool on my keyboard.

  10. Sarah permalink
    May 13, 2013 10:45 am

    Your version looks amazing!

  11. May 13, 2013 12:27 pm

    This sounds so yummy. So many good things thrown together! 🙂

  12. May 13, 2013 4:36 pm

    this is going to have to be the most viewed group b recipe. It looks amazing. Added 5 lbs just reading it.

  13. May 13, 2013 4:57 pm

    Oh my goodness,
    Just look at that pie, sure wish that I had a slice right now. This is a great recipe choice for the SRC.
    Have a fun week!
    Miz Helen

  14. May 13, 2013 5:41 pm

    mmmm – I’ve heard this pie is great frozen, perfect for a hot summer day. 🙂

  15. Angie permalink
    May 14, 2013 8:14 pm

    I had a piece and it was incredible. I may even try to make it. Or just wait for Katie to make it again. Delicious!!

  16. May 15, 2013 8:18 am

    This looks so delicious!

  17. May 16, 2013 10:22 am

    Yes and please! Love this version. i pinned to make it soon!

  18. May 28, 2013 5:47 am

    Have just found your blog … and oh, what a sweet introduction! I love the idea of freezing this pie and offering it as a frozen dessert! Simple and delish … my kind of sweet treat!

  19. Kristen permalink
    November 16, 2013 8:42 am

    When you say large container of cool whip do you mean the 16 oz?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      January 12, 2014 8:31 am

      sorry for the very late response….yes, a 16 oz container of coolwhip!

Trackbacks

  1. Best of 2013: Desserts | The Secret Recipe Club

Leave a Reply

