Skip to content

Chamomile Tea Cakes with Meyer Lemon Glaze

February 11, 2013

071

My Secret Recipe Club blog for the Month of February was Cooking…on the Ranch by Lea Ann.

Lea Ann’s blog is full of delicious looking savory recipes but since I tend to only photograph the pretty sweet treats I went straight to the “sweets and desserts” section of her blog and scrolled through all of the recipes and came back to this one… A miniature tea cake flavoured with Chamomile from Joy the Baker’s Cookbook.  Lea Ann had some trouble with her cakes falling and I can agree that this recipe is quite fincky.  To avoid any potential issues, I made sure that my batter was well mixed, that the muffin tins were just shy of being halfway full and I baked them in the top third of the oven.  I was out of cupcake liners so I greased the muffins tins liberally with shortening and most of my cakes stuck to the pan 😦   I was able to remove a few of them without too much damage and I frosted the top with a simple Meyer Lemon Glaze. (The original recipe used a honey frosting but there was no honey left in my cupboards)

These cakes are very light and the chamomile adds such an interesting unexpected flavour.  I think the Chamomile tea leaves would be a nice addition to a shortbread cookie as well.

Chamomile Tea Cakes with Meyer Lemon Glaze recipe from Cooking on the Ranch, originally sourced from Joy The Baker’s cookbook.

  • ¼ C. butter
  • 1 C. all-purpose flour
  • ¾ C. granulated sugar
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • ½ t. baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 T. dried chamomile (from tea bags)
  • ½ C. milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 t. pure vanilla extract

for the Glaze

  • juice of 1 meyer lemon
  • enough powdered sugar to make a runny glaze

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a muffin tin with 12 cupcake liners (or, with caution, grease the pan…do you feel lucky??)

Cream together the butter and the sugar.  To this mixture add the flour, baking powder and baking soda and the tea and continue to mix until you have a very even looking sandy mixture.

In a measuring cup, whisk the egg together with the milk and vanilla.

Add the wet ingredients slowly into the dry ingredients while mixing.  Mix until smooth (about a minute)

Divide the batter equally among the muffin tins being careful not to fill each one more than halfway.

Bake for 17-22 minutes or until the cakes are a light golden colour and spring back when gently touched in the middles.

Cool the cakes in the pan for 10 minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

Once the cakes have cooled, mix the juice of a Meyer Lemon with enough powdered sugar to make a runny glaze.  (the amount will depend on how juicy your lemon is….I never measure icing)

Spread the glaze on top of the cooled cakes, letting it drizzle down the sides.

077

Enjoy!

Be sure to click the link and check out what all the other Secret Recipe Club members have been up to!



11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 9:18 am

    I will definitely give these a whirl. While I don’t like chamomile – tea – I love it in baked goods. Go figure. Thanks for sharing with the SRC. I am typcially in Group A, but stepped in this week to help out. I’m enjoying reading some new-to-me blogs!

  2. February 11, 2013 10:54 am

    These are gorgeoussss! They look so delicious, I love the flecks of what I assume to be the tea flakes in the cake!

  3. February 11, 2013 11:18 am

    Well, I’m glad it wasn’t just me. I’m not much of a baker. And “finicky” is a perfect way to describe this. Your photo is really nice Katie. And love that lemon glaze. And, great idea to add the tea to a short bread cookie. And poor you getting me for this month’s SRC. Not too many desserts to choose from. 🙂 Nice to meet you Katie.

  4. February 11, 2013 5:03 pm

    These look beautiful. I have a couple of Meyer Lemons, this just may be the recipe I need to try!

  5. February 11, 2013 5:51 pm

    I love that bottom photo – it looks so delicious! I bet the hit of tea was so refreshing and delicious. What a great choice.

  6. February 11, 2013 6:23 pm

    They look so tasty! Great SRC choice!

  7. February 11, 2013 7:01 pm

    These look really delicious! I always have a problem when I don’t use paper liners so I bought myself a silicone muffin pan and it’s amazing. Everything just pops right out. I used it to make your peanut butter cups for this challenge! Jen

  8. February 12, 2013 2:52 am

    Gorgeous food photography! I love the the lighting and the cupcakes look amazing!

  9. February 12, 2013 6:04 am

    Those look absolutely delicious!!! YUMMY. Our store just started carrying Meyer Lemons so I think I might try to make some of these. Thanks for sharing.

  10. February 12, 2013 9:04 am

    Very different! Nice pick.

  11. February 14, 2013 2:36 pm

    Just in time for my afternoon tea, lovely Chamomile tea cakes and I love the lemon glaze.
    Happy Valentine Day!
    Miz Helen
    SRC Group B

Leave a Reply

