Skip to content

Caramel Popcorn

December 2, 2012

085

What goes better with Christmas Movie night than sweet, crunchy, buttery Caramel Popcorn?!?

My husband was on a quest at the grocery store to buy caramel popcorn so we could watch the Muppet Christmas Carol with the kiddos.  I remember my mom making caramel popcorn for us and as I recalled it was quite easy, it just involved a fair amount of stirring…I was correct! Making caramel popcorn at home is super easy, there’s no candy thermometer required, just basic ingredients, a pot and a large shallow pan for in the oven, a tiny but of patience and you’re good to go. (And will have way more popcorn than you can handle on your own!)

I can’t believe I waited so long to make this myself!

Now if were up to me I would have added nuts to this, Peanuts, Almonds, Pecans, Walnuts, you name it!

But I was out voted so we stuck with just caramel and popcorn.

Next time we’re going to kick it way up 🙂

Caramel Popcorn makes about two large ziplock bags full

  • 1 cup popcorn kernels, popped. (enough to fill roughly a 5 qt bowl)
  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup lily white corn syrup
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt (unless you used salted butter, if using salted butter, omit salt)

Spray two cookie sheets or one large roasting type shallow pan with cookie spray and spread the popcorn out. (I have a 16X16″ cake pan that works perfect)

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees.

In a medium heavy bottom saucepan over medium heat melt the butter.

Add the brown sugar and the corn syrup and stir until the mixture begins to boil.

Once at a rolling boil, let boil without stirring for 4 minutes.  I turned the heat down slightly as I am really good at burning caramel,  medium low heat.

After 4 minutes, remove from heat and stir in the baking soda, vanilla and salt.  The Caramel will spurt and bubble up when you add the vanilla so be very careful!

Pour the caramel over the popcorn and use a silicone spatula to toss everything around getting it well coated.

Bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

After 45 minutes I started checking it more frequently to be sure it doesn’t burn as ovens can heat up differently.

As the popcorn cools, the caramel will turn hard and crunchy.

Toss up the popcorn and break up any larger pieces.

Store in an air tight container.

090

My littlest helper approves!

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2012 6:10 pm

    Yummm!! I have been eating SO much popcorn lately, I need to sweeten it up!

  2. December 2, 2012 6:18 pm

    We mainly ate caramel corn when the local Boy Scouts sold their tins, but your recipe looks easy enough for me to try to make! (And since your cute little helper approves, then I definitely should give it a go!)

Leave a Reply

