Skip to content

Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

November 12, 2012

This Month I was assigned The Bitchin’ Kitchen for my Secret Recipe Club assignment.

Ellie is from Hoboken NJ where they were just hit pretty hard by Hurricane Sandy.  I’m glad to see that she’s back to blogging and managed to stay safe during such a crazy devastating storm!

Bitchin Kitchen is full of too good to be true cupcake recipes that I was eyeing up but we didn’t really have an occasion for cake so I thought that cookies would be a more practical choice.   I did make one change to the recipe, and that was subbing 1/2 cup of butter with an equal part of cream cheese as I had taken the cream cheese out for another recipe that didn’t happen and I needed to use it up!

These cookies are really good and would be amazing made with all butter as well!

Dense, chocolatey, lots of hazelnut flavour and quick to whip up!

Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies (with cream cheese) makes 2 dozen recipe slightly adapted from  The Bitchin’ Kitchen

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup room temperature cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup chocolate hazelnut spread such as Nutella
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line your baking sheets with parchment paper.

Cream together the butter and cream cheese until very smooth (2-3 minutes)

add the powdered sugar along with the extracts and continue mixing until well blended

Stir in the flour and then add the Chocolate hazelnut spread.

Stir in Chocolate Chips.

Scoop dough by rounded tablespoons onto cookie sheet and slightly flatten them out using the heel of your hand

*note* if you are using all butter, these cookies will be more delicate like shortbread and you need NOT flatten the cookie dough.  The cream cheese in this dough along with a “thicker than Nutella” hazelnut spread made for quite a dense cookie dough that I knew wouldn’t spread.

bake 10-13 minutes or until cookies appear to be done.

Enjoy!

Please click the linky and check out what the other SRC members have been up to this month!


9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2012 10:05 am

    I saw “Halzelnut” and had to come over! Looks fabulous. I didn’t know you could put cream cheese in cookies, but it sounds amazing. Hi from SRC!

  2. November 12, 2012 10:58 am

    these look amazing and a good one for our holiday cookie exchange. Saying hi from src group b http://www.stayingclosetohome.com/2012/11/brown-butter-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

  3. November 12, 2012 8:43 pm

    That looks like one rich fabulous cookie.

  4. November 13, 2012 5:11 am

    Wow, those look wonderful. I have never substituted cream cheese for butter in cookies – I’ll have to give that a try sometime!

  5. November 13, 2012 6:17 pm

    Your chocolate Hazelnut Cookies look delicious, and this is a great recipe for the SRC.
    Have a good week!
    Miz Helen

  6. November 13, 2012 6:59 pm

    Oh, yum, those cookies look delicious. And I had to laugh when you said that there wasn’t an occasion for cupcakes – I think cupcakes can be an occasion themselves!! 🙂 But these look amazing, and they were a great choice.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      November 13, 2012 7:26 pm

      my waistline also says there doesn’t need to be an occasion for cupcakes! lol I am trying to make less of them 🙂

  7. November 13, 2012 7:15 pm

    I’d never od thought to sub cream cheese for butter. They look delish. Reminds me how much I love homemade cookies.

  8. November 15, 2012 7:04 am

    Yes and please. Definitely trying these and I like the cream cheese swap. Bet they were super soft.

Leave a Reply

