Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

May 11, 2012

No dairy, no eggs, all delicious!

These chewy oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are packed full of good things!  Oats, Spelt, Whole Wheat Flour, Walnuts, Coconut and Chocolate!

The recipe for these cookies came from Gwyneth Paltrow’s book “My Father’s Daughter”  I did adapt a few things to work with what I had in my kitchen and I was a little bit worried about the texture of the dough as it was fairly crumbly but in the end they came out just great and were a big hit with the kids!

I will give you the recipe from the book and note my adaptations 🙂

UGHHHHH My PC crashed again in the middle of this post, back to the hubby’s laptop it is!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies makes about 3 dozen

  •  1/2 cup raisins (I used miniature chocolate chips)
  • 3/4 cup toasted walnuts
  • 1 cup whole rolled oats (not the instant kind)
  • 1/2 cup white spelt flour
  • 3/4 cup whole spelt flour (I have plain old spelt flour, so I used a combo of spelt and whole wheat)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut (i added this in, not in the original recipe)
  •  1/3 cup vegetable oil (i used coconut oil)
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup brown rice syrup (I had neither syrups, I used half honey and half brown sugar)
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Grind the walnuts in a food processor or blender along with 1/2 cup of the oats.

In the bowl of the mixer, combine the oil and syrups or sugar with the vanilla and beat until smooth.

In another bowl, combine the dry ingredients and then stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Fold in the raisins or chocolate chips.

At this point, the dough was a little crumbly but when firmly compressed into a ball it held together just fine….I didn’t actually read the instructions at this point, I had only written down the ingredients.

I used my smallest cookie scoop for these cookies.

Gently flatten each ball of dough with the heel of your hand and then bake for 13-15 minutes or until the cookies are a nice golden brown.

Let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet.

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2012 5:55 am

    Hey! Thanks for your comment 🙂 My text basically says that I am not that great a cook. I am too impatient for most recipes 🙂 But I do love cookies and sweet stuff and your recipes are awesome. So , even I fall for them 🙂 Yummie!

  2. michael permalink
    May 12, 2012 7:42 am

    Wow! Those cookies look amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  3. May 15, 2012 1:10 am

    Lovely recipe, thanks for sharing! =)

  4. December 18, 2014 3:44 pm

    Making these right now, perfect texture! Thanks

Leave a Reply

