Skip to content

Apple Raisin Oatmeal Cookies

April 16, 2012

A perfect snack for little hands full of oats, raisins, apples and cinnamon!

The inspiration and recipe for these soft and cakey apple oatmeal cookies comes from my Secret Recipe Club assigned Blog this month Samayalarai.  Most of the recipes from Samayalarai are made egg-less but I added the egg back into the recipe as I was afraid of the cookies not binding together well enough for me.  I did also try the recipe for the Avocado Quinoa Cakes but I must’ve converted a measurement wrong as they didn’t come out looking very pretty for me (actually they didn’t even come out of the pan!  but I will be trying the recipe again because I really want them to work out)

Apple Raisin Oatmeal Cookies (Recipe from Samayalarai) makes about 18

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 Cup Oats ( old fashioned quick cooking oats)
  •  1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tbsp Wheat Germ ( i didn’t have any wheat germ so I used wheat bran instead)
  • 1 Apple, chopped
  •  1/2 tsp Baking soda
  •  1/2 tsp Baking powder
  •  1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp Ground cinnamon
  •  a pinch of nutmeg
  •  10 gms Walnuts (I left out the nuts and chocolate and added 1/3 cup or sultana raisins)
  • 20 gms Chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper.  I was all out of parchment so i just baked right on the pan.  I didn’t have an issue with the cookies sticking.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.   Add the egg and continue to beat until combined.  Beat in the vanilla extract.

Whisk together the dry ingredients and mix into the batter.

Fold in the apples and raisins.

Place dough by a rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookies sheets and bake 10-15 minutes depending on how you prefer your cookies baked.  I pressed the dough down slightly before baking, but the cookies spread really easily so I don’t recommend pressing them down.

Enjoy! (I kow my kids sure will!)

For more SRC posts, click the link below to take you to the link up!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2012 2:06 pm

    These are awesome cookies! It is fun cooking with you in the SRC!
    Miz Helen

  2. April 16, 2012 3:19 pm

    I’m so wanting one of these right now! They look great!

  3. April 16, 2012 4:00 pm

    oooh, these look tasty. And chock full of good stuff.

  4. April 16, 2012 4:41 pm

    Holy wow! apples, oatmeal AND raisins???? I NEED these ! 🙂 great choice!

  5. April 16, 2012 6:18 pm

    These sound great! I’m stopping by from SRC but be sure to stop by Seasonal Potluck this month. We have peas AND rhubarb link parties open! We’d love if you’d share any recipes you may have http://bit.ly/H9XJGB

  6. April 16, 2012 11:23 pm

    I love anything with apple and cinnamon in and these sound really delicious.

  7. April 17, 2012 8:02 am

    Those cookies look delicious. The apple and cinnamon must add great flavour, even without the chocolate chips.

  8. April 22, 2012 5:39 pm

    I love oatmeal cookies but adding apple seems like a delicious idea

Leave a Reply

