Skip to content

The Very Hungry Caterpillar 1st Birthday Party

March 9, 2012

Image

This past weekend we celebrated my little man’s 1st birthday with a great big very Hungry Caterpillar party!

If you’re not familiar with the story book by Eric Carle, the plot is simple….each day of the week the caterpillar eats through a new food and he’s STILL HUNGRY….he eats through apples, pears, plums. pranges, strawberries, on Saturday he eats through chocolate cake, a cupcake, a slice of cherry pie, a lollipop, a pickle, some cheese, a sausage, an ice cream cone, some salami….in the very end he wraps up into a cocoon and transforms into a beautiful butterfly! Image

Image

 

I thought it would be fun to have all of foods from the book at the party, all of the kids had a great time and the birthday boy LOVED his cake!

I think this was my best fondant job so far!  I tried a new recipe that I came across using pinterest that incorporated water into the marshmallows and I was very pleased with how easily it rolled so thin.  It will definitely be my new go to recipe from now on!  If you’d like to give it a try, you can find the recipe I used at A Spicy Perspective  Recipe can be found HERE.  I’m also finding that using a buttercream that’s 50/50 butter and shortening holds up really well under the fondant!

Image

I replaced the labels on water bottles to match the theme.  Printed out pictures on regular computer paper and applied to the bottles with clear packing tape

Image

I crafted a pinata with a balloon and some paper mache, decorated with red streamers to look like a strawberry. 

The pinata was filled with bug shaped fruit snacks for the older kids and raisins for the babes.  Each baby got to wear a hungry caterpillar bib at the party and then took it home as a “thanks for coming”

Image

I’m going to make an effort to get some more recipes posted this coming week!  French Cruellers coming up soon!

Enjoy! 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 3:56 pm

    Katie this looks like such a fab party! Your cake is amazing! Can’t believe it’s been a year already! What a cutie! Hugs & Misses!

  2. Betsy permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:33 pm

    Looks like a wonderful birthday party ! I am planning this party for my son his birthday is in April. I’m having a lot of older kids at the party (siblings to the younger ones) how did your guest do with the food? I was stuck between doing all the food from the book, or just doing the fruits and cooking an actual meal.

  3. Mom26girls permalink
    March 15, 2013 6:54 am

    I would love to have the printable for the water bottle labels. Having our party tomorrow! Would you be so kind as to share it with me?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      March 15, 2013 7:07 am

      Unfortunatley, I don’t have any type of illustrator program (it’s on my wishlist), I kind of haphazardly copied and pasted an image from google search onto a word document, printed them out and cut them! My old computer crashed so I don’t even have a saved copy of that file 😦 Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful!

Leave a Reply

