Skip to content

Chocolate Walnut Sticky Buns

February 9, 2012

So you may have heard how much I’ve been swooning over Artisan Bread in 5…

There are still so many recipes in the book that I’d like to try, and I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting with the basic “boule” recipe in the book with awesome results! (the addition of oats, dried cranberries, brown sugar and cinnamon is amazing)   I recently bought Healthy Bread in 5 minutes a day and I’m equally impressed!   The method is so super easy and I really do believe that anyone can make this with little or no difficulty at all! The crust always comes out awesome….crisp and dark golden brown and I really can’t make it fast enough to keep up with my husband and 3 hungry kids 🙂

I decided to create a nutty chocolate sticky bun after making the lemon Rosemary sticky buns and having a good portion of dough leftover in the fridge (and bread already baked on the counter)  These buns are filled with toasted walnuts, chocolate, and sugar that’s been flavored with almond extract.  Topped with cream cheese frosting these are a truly indulgent treat!

Chocolate Walnut Sticky Buns (Makes 12)

  • One half recipe basic boule (CLICK HERE) or use your favorite recipe!
  • 4tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chocolate, chopped ( I used chocolate chips, that I chopped up as I didn’t want them to hold their “chip” shape)
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts, chopped

Line a 9X13″ pan with parchment paper.

Remove the dough from the fridge and dust it with flour, take half of the dough (unless you’ve halved the recipe) and put it on a lightly floured surface.

Using a rolling-pin dusted with flour, flatten the dough into a large rectangle about 10 X 15″

In a small bowl, combine the sugars and the extracts.

Smear softened butter over the rolled out dough and sprinkle evenly with the sugar mixture.

Sprinkle the walnuts and chocolate evenly over the sugar and then roll the dough, pinching the edge to seal it up.

Slice  using a string of dental floss (slide the floss under the rolled up dough and then cross the two ends over top, pulling tight to slice) and place rolls in the prepared pan.

Set rolls aside in a warm, draft free area to rise until doubled in bulk. (about an hour)

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 – 40 minutes or until the tops are a light golden brown.

To make Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 4 oz (1/2 cup) cream cheese
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix ingredients together until smooth and smear over the warm sticky buns.

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 7:20 pm

    Yum I was just thinking about the bread dough I have in the fridge I need to use, this looks great! I think I may surprise my kids with this in the morning. I wonder if I can assemble them tonight and set them out in the morning to rise? Have you had any experience with this?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 12, 2012 7:11 am

      I’ve not tried this yet, but I have read you can do a second slow rise overnight in the fridge….I’d plan to let them warm up a little bit onthe counter first before baking though 🙂

  2. Heather Craggs permalink
    March 9, 2012 11:26 am

    I have made both kinds of sticky bun now and oh my! They are amazing! What a fantastic recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

