Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cheesecake Bars

October 26, 2011

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Caramel

Cheesecake

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Insane!

I may have slightly overdone it with this one 🙂  These are very sweet.

I found this recipe link on Pinterest.  Myself and so many others I know are spending a lot of time on pinterest…I’m pretty sure that more time is spent pinning awesome things than actually making awesome things.  We’ll just call it a pinterest learning curve!  You can find and follow my boards HERE.

The original recipe was just chocolate chip cookies and cheesecake but I only had about 1/4 cup of chocolate chips so I threw in some butterscotch chips.  I also had some caramel “apple wraps” (thin flat sheets of soft caramel for making caramel apples) that I thought would be great underneath the cheesecake layer.  If you can’t find the caramel sheets anywhere, go ahead and make the recipe without the caramel layer, they’ll still be delicious!

If I make these again I will be skip the butterscotch chips and use dark chocolate chips.  I often forget that I’m not a fan of the butterscotch chips, then I use them and remember!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cheesecake Bars recipe from heat oven to 350 (makes 24-36 bars depending on how you slice them)

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Cheesecake layer

  • 1 cup (8oz) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 sheets of caramel (Caramel apple wraps)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a 9X13″ pan with non stick spray or line with parchment paper.

Mix together the cookie dough:  Cream butter, shortening and sugars together until light and fluffy.  add the vanilla,egg and vinegar.  Mix in the flour, baking soda and salt then stir in all of the chocolate chips.

This part is tricky (and sticky)  Spread a little more than half of the cookie dough in the prepared pan and set the rest of the dough aside.

Prepare the cheesecake.  Cream the cheese until smooth, add the sugar, egg and vanilla and beat until smooth (you could also do this in a food processor)

*if using caramel sheets, lay them over the cookie dough layer

Pour the cheesecake over the cookie dough.

To top with the remaining cookie dough, use wet hands and place flatted bits of cookie dough on top of the cheesecake layer covering up most of the cheesecake.  You’ll still see white bits, that’s okay as it bakes up pretty firm.

Bake for 40-45 minutes or until the cheesecake appears to be set in the middle.

Cool completely before cutting and serving.

Store in the fridge.

Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 12:19 pm

    Combines all my favorite things!

  2. Georgia permalink
    February 14, 2012 1:37 pm

    Do you suppose if I can’t find the caramel wraps, I could just do a light sprinkle of caramel bits? Maybe an ice cream caramel topping?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 14, 2012 1:44 pm

      I would 🙂 I rarely find a recipe that I don’t tweak or alter the ingredients in! The caramel wraps had been hanging out in the cupboard forever, caramel bits or caramel sauce would surely be just as good!

  3. Susan Plump permalink
    October 13, 2012 7:40 am

    Is it really necessary to use shortening, or could you use all butter? I prefer not to shortening.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      October 13, 2012 7:51 am

      I don’t see a problem with using all butter, the only “perk” to using shortening is that sometimes it makes for a softer, chewier cookie.

  4. October 17, 2012 2:50 pm

    Is the apple cider vinegar necessary? What does it do for the recipe?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      October 17, 2012 3:47 pm

      I honestly couldn’t
      tell you why the apple cider vinegar is necassary in the recipe, I do know that combining apple cider vinegar with the baking soda is a bit of an old school method that i’ve come across now and again and seems to yield a good result. You could really use any chocolate chip cookie recipe as the base and end up with a good bar. Sorry I don’t have a better answer for this 🙂

  5. Bakerbakergirl permalink
    July 1, 2013 1:15 pm

    40 minutes of cooking time burnt the cookie part. They were done cooking at 20 minutes. I was really looking forward to these bars and they got burnt.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 1, 2013 1:25 pm

      Super sorry to hear that 40 minutes left you with a burnt cookie…oven’s can vary in temperature and it’s always a good idea to check things halfway through the bake time to ensure they’re cooking correctly!

Trackbacks

  1. How To… Make Chocolate Chip Cookie Cheesecake Bars | Things Every College Girl Should Know

Leave a comment