Skip to content

Espresso Chocolate Chip Shortbread

October 17, 2011

 I’m a procrastinator.

I always have been a procrastinator and I suppose it’s pretty likely that I always will be.

I enjoy the Secret Recipe Club, every month I’m assigned a new blog to browse and bake from.  I always have about 4 weeks to get my “assignment” finished and every month I find myself posting (and truthfully…sometimes even baking) the evening before my post is scheduled to show up at 5 am the following morning! I always get it done just in the nick of time!   I can remember trying to finish an entire alphabetical animal assignment in grade 5 that we were given a month to complete the evening before it was due.  I wrote and illustrated 26 pages the evening before it was to be handed in and as I recall it turned out pretty good 🙂

These cookies turned out pretty good too!

The blog I’m baking from this month is called Kristine’s Kitchen and the recipe is originally from Dorie Greenspan’s book “Baking from my Home to Yours”  These cookies are very similar to the Chocolate Cocoa Nib Cookies I recently made and I enjoyed those so much that decided to also add cacao nibs to this version as well! 

Espresso Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies recipe from Kristine’s Kitchen

  • 1 tbsp espresso powder
  • 1 tbsp boiling water
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (I used semi sweet)
  • 1/4 cup cacao nibs (optional)

Dissolve the espresso powder in he boiling water and set aside to cool until it’s tepid.

In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar for about 3 minutes. Add in the vanilla extract and the espresso/  While mixing on low-speed, add in the flour and mix until incorporated.  Fold in the chocolate chips and cacao nibs.

Transfer the dough into a large ziplock type freezer bag and leaving the bag open (so the air can escape) roll the dough until it’s evenly spread in the bag.  Seal the bag pressing out all of the air.  Refrigerate the dough for 2 hours or up to two days.  I tucked mine into the freezer until it was firm enough to slice.

When you’re ready to bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Using scissors, cut the bag open and turn the solid dough out onto a cutting board.  Using a sharp knife, slice into 1 1/2″ squares.  (I’d use a ruler next time…I had a lot of odd shaped rectangles)

Bake cookies for 18-20 minutes or until cookies are feeling firm to the touch.  transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Enjoy!

Click the Link and browse ALL of this month’s SRC creations!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 6:44 am

    Mmm, shortbread is my favorite cookie ever! I can only imagine how good these are!

  2. October 17, 2011 7:09 am

    My word, these look good!!!

  3. October 17, 2011 9:04 am

    Yum! These cookies sound like they would make a really tasty morning treat to go with a huge cup of coffee. Thanks for sharing!

  4. October 17, 2011 9:24 am

    Oh these look delish! They’d make a good choice for a cookie exchange!

  5. October 17, 2011 9:30 am

    I’m a terrible procrastinator too – up last night until 4am baking, writing, and shooting photos for today’s reveal. Why??? Oh well. I love your selection this month – ms. 16 year old made a similar recipe, but they weren’t to my liking texture wise. I’ll have to pin this recipe and give it a try sometime. Great SRC pick!

    Hope you’ll stop by and see my SRC post,
    ButterYum

  6. October 17, 2011 9:54 am

    I absolutely love shortbread cookies! These look wonderful. Great pic!

  7. October 17, 2011 11:19 am

    What a great combination for a shortbread, it looks so good! Thanks for sharing and it is fun cooking with you in the SRC!
    Miz Helen
    Southwest Chicken and Potato Soup

  8. October 17, 2011 12:07 pm

    I’m glad you liked these! With shortbread, espresso, and chocolate, how could you go wrong, right? 🙂

  9. October 18, 2011 4:38 am

    What a great shortbread! Butter + chocolate = Num!

  10. October 18, 2011 5:13 am

    I love buttery shortbread but add chocolate yum. Perfect with a cup of coffee for your 5am deadline.

  11. October 18, 2011 6:19 am

    So funny! I had to do the same thing when I was in third grade. One of my classmates actually found an animal for X, but for the life of me I can’t remember what it was now.

    Your shortbreads look divine!

  12. October 18, 2011 11:09 pm

    I adore shortbread and the flavors in yours sound wonderful.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my group “A” SRC recipe this month: Levain Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  13. October 19, 2011 9:58 am

    Yum! Looks great! Fun to participate in SRC with you!

  14. October 20, 2011 12:36 pm

    YUMMY! I have to try these. Espresso makes ANYTHING taste good!

  15. October 20, 2011 7:01 pm

    These look SO good!

    Thank you for being a part of Secret Recipe Club, I really enjoy this group and being your hostesss. My recipe for this month was Frozen Breakfaast Burritos, even though I made these a few weeks ago for Monday’s post, I just made a second batch today!

    If you haven’t checked them out yet, please stop by!
    http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/2011/10/frozen-breakfast-burritos-secret-recipe.html

  16. October 21, 2011 3:19 pm

    hmmm…. espresso, love it. Chocolate, love and shortbread? How can this not be yummy!

  17. December 26, 2011 5:18 pm

    so happy I came over from Jam Hands. I love shortbread and especially love this twist. Thanks for sharing. check out my Scottish Shortbread Cut Outs: http://www.myjudythefoodie.com/2011/12/scottish-shortbread-cookies/

  18. Jocelyn permalink
    September 5, 2012 9:09 am

    they look good

Leave a Reply

