Skip to content

Pumpkin Granola

September 20, 2011

I’m so happy that it’s beginning to feel like fall, the mornings are a bit chilly but the daytime is still warm enough to be outside without having to worry about too many layers.  I also love that Autumn means I can break out the pumpkin puree and spices and bake things that leave the house smelling amazing and the tummies feeling full and happy 🙂

I’ve been using a lot of recipes that I find through Pinterest lately.  If you’re not familiar with pinterest you should check it out, it allows you to add a button to your task bar so when you stumble onto something great on a blog or website you can “pin it” to your bulletin board making it so easy to return to the original source.  You can also share your bulletin boards with friends and follow the boards of your friends! It really eats up a lot of my spare time when I should be cleaning bathrooms and doing laundry!

I was searching pumpkin recipes on Pinterest and found this recipe for pumpkin granola from Two peas and their pod  It’s really delicious, like a crunchy version of pumpkin pie!  I enjoy it with some greek yogurt for breakfast or with a little bit of warm milk! 

 I’m on a bit of a pumpkin binge!

Pumpkin Granola

  • 5 cups rolled oats
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • ¾ tsp. salt
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup pumpkin puree
  • ¼ cup applesauce
  • ¼ cup maple syrup (all out, used agave)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup pepitas   (didn’t have any but I did add slivered almonds)
  • I also added some ground flax-seed and a few tbsp of *chia seeds

*chia seeds were added after baking

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and line two cookie sheets with parchment

Combine the oats, nuts and flax-seed (if using) salt and spices together and set aside.

In another bowl, whisk together the pumpkin puree, sugars, apple sauce, maple syrup and vanilla.

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until everything is evenly coated.

Bake for 20 minutes, then remove from the oven and give the mixture a bit of a toss around the pan before returning to bake for an additional 20-30 minutes or until golden brown and crisp.  

Toss the dried cranberries, pepitas and chia seeds.

Store in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 1:05 pm

    So glad you liked the granola! It is my favorite!

  2. September 20, 2011 1:09 pm

    I think every food blogger is pumpkin crazed right now. Including myself! I’m going to have to try this recipe.and maybe add in some pumpkin seeds?

  3. betchacanteatjustone permalink*
    September 20, 2011 1:12 pm

    The original recipe called for pepitas (pumpkin seeds) but I didn’t have any when I made it. I will add then in next time for sure!

Leave a Reply

