Skip to content

5 Minute Chocolate Cake and Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal

September 19, 2011

I really need to begin this post by saying Thank you Thank you Thank you to those of you that have stumbled and pinned my blog posts!  My lonely little blog that is read mostly by friends and family has recently been getting views in the 40,000’s (that is per day!)  A pretty big overwhelming jump from my regular 150 🙂  

So leave a comment, stumble me or pin my posts to your baking boards on pinterest!  It really does make my day!

Okay, so who’s heard of 5 minute chocolate cake in a mug?

I’ve had the recipe forwarded to me in e mails and seen it pop up every now and again on pinterest so when it came time to find a recipe to make for the Secret Recipe Club from my assigned blog Little Bit of Everything and I came across this cake I knew I would have to give it a try.

I believe that this is the first time I’ve ever cooked anything in the microwave aside from a very occasional scrambled egg and oatmeal for breakfast!  The premise here is simple; mix all your ingredients in a mug (or small dish) and microwave on high for 3 minutes.  I took my cake out after 2 minutes and 30 seconds and it actually tasted pretty good but my husband and I weren’t super fond of the texture but if you’re in need of a quick chocolate fix this may just be for you!

Keep reading is you’re interested in the Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal…it’s incredible!

5 Minute Chocolate Cake recipe from Little Bit of Everything

• 4 tablespoons flour
• 4 tablespoons sugar
• 2 tablespoons cocoa
• 1 egg ( I just used an egg white)
• 3 tablespoons milk
• 3 tablespoons oil
• 3 tablespoons chocolate chips (I left out the chips and topped my cake with chocolate fudge sauce and chocolate shavings)
• Small splash of vanilla extract
• 1 large coffee mug

MIx the dry ingredients together in a large coffee mug or microwave safe dish.

Add the egg and the remaining ingredients and whisk it all together until fairly smooth

Microwave on high for 3 minutes.

Remove from the dish and cool slightly.

 

When searching recipes from Little Bit of Everything I also found THIS…..

Incredible Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal with pecans and dried cranberries.   It’s like eating pumpkin pie for breakfast but with all the goodness of rolled oats 🙂  You won’t miss the pastry at all, I promise!  I know I’ll be enjoying this for breakfast often.

  • 1 3/4 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (ginger, cloves and nutmeg will do.  I also added 1 tsp cinnamon)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup raisins (optional)
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup ( I subbed 1/4 cup agave)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 TBSP butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups milk (I used skim)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup pecans, chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a large baking dish with non stick spray and set aside. 

In a bowl, mix together the pumpkin puree, eggs, melted butter, maple syrup, milk and vanilla.

Add the dry ingredients and mix until combined.

Stir in the raisins or cranberries.

Pour into the prepared dish and top with pecans.

Bake for 35-45 minutes or until the oatmeal is set .

Serve hot.

Enjoy!

 Click the link to check out what other SRC members have blogged about this month!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 9:07 am

    Wow! That cake looks like a chocoholics dream come true! Fantastic!!

  2. September 19, 2011 10:40 am

    This looks like a great recipe. It is fun cooking with you in the SRC. Hope you are having a great day and thanks for sharing!
    Miz Helen

  3. September 19, 2011 11:14 am

    Holy smokes! That just looks heaven;y. And in only 5 minutes! Fantastic!

  4. September 19, 2011 1:58 pm

    Oh my that chocolate cake looks great. I was actually googling baked pumpkin oatmeal this morning. Looks like I don’t need to search any longer!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 19, 2011 3:06 pm

      The Pumpkin Oatmeal is really SO delicious! Hope you enjoy!

  5. September 19, 2011 4:38 pm

    I once in a while will make a cake in a mug for my daughter when she wants a little treat and that way she eats one and that’s all there is. The oatmeal looks delicious, I’ll have to give it a try.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my group “A” SRC recipe this month: Welsh Cakes.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  6. September 19, 2011 4:57 pm

    I love finding new blogs thru the SRC!

    Your cake looks awesome. I love chocolate AND moist, rich, gooey-ooey cake is just…the best!

  7. September 19, 2011 6:25 pm

    That oatmeal looks absolutely fabulous and the cake looks great too!

  8. September 20, 2011 4:29 am

    That baked pumpkin oatmeal sounds awfully good, might have to try it.

  9. September 20, 2011 7:21 am

    I still haven’t made any of the microwave chocolate cakes that I’ve seen. I don’t know why. I think I’m afraid of something backfiring! Yours looks awesome!

  10. September 20, 2011 10:19 am

    Just pinned this oatmeal recipe. Sounds fantastic.

    40,000 hits a day??? Holy smokes! I can’t even imagine. Congrats!

    I’d love it if you’d stop by my SRC post for Turkey Sloppy Joes!

  11. September 20, 2011 6:27 pm

    Hi! Thanks for featuring two of my recipes! I know that cake is way too easy and too delicious! The oatmeal is a great change to the regular oatmeal and perfect for this time of year.

  12. September 21, 2011 12:52 am

    I have never heard anything good about the mug cake and I refuse to make it, however your picture looks very tempting! The oatmeal sounds good too!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 21, 2011 6:13 am

      LOL Like I said, we weren’t fond of the texture of the mug cake….it was a little rubbery strange but I couldn’t get away without at least giving it a try! The oatmeal is really worth trying!

      • September 27, 2011 11:07 pm

        Well, I made it today, tweaking it a bit b/c I can’t leave anything alone–lol! This was really good! Thanks for sharing it.

  13. September 21, 2011 7:38 am

    Yum! Looks great – I’m loving SRC — so many new recipes to try!

  14. September 21, 2011 7:40 am

    while the cake looks delicious, you had me sold on the pumpkin oatmeal!

  15. September 21, 2011 1:30 pm

    Too funny – I just made a pumpkin spice baked oatmeal; it’s in the oven right now!

  16. September 30, 2011 5:35 am

    Hi! I can’t wait to try your choco chip/cream cheese cookie recipe, but in the meantime, I was browsing your other recipes and found this post. I, too, succumbed to the instant chocolate cake trial, but used this one:

    Nora’s 1 Minute Chocolate Cup-o-cake
    into a large coffee mug put:
    5 tbs all-purpose flour
    2 rounded tbs unsweetened cocoa powder
    2 rounded tbs sugar
    1/4 tsp baking soda
    1/8 tsp salt
    nuts
    mix these ingredients together and add
    3 tbs milk
    1 tbs oil
    1/4 tsp vanilla
    Dove Dark Chocolate
    mix it all up and submerge the Dove in the middle. Here’s the great part… lick the spoon or have your kid lick the spoon… no eggs, no worries
    you can add come chocolate chips or nuts now if you want… adding a small handful of chocolate chips and pushing them down into the middle of the batter makes a great molten chocolate cake.
    put it in the microwave for 1 minute (try at 70%), maybe 1 and a half. check it at one though… it cooks really fast and you don’t want to over cook it or it goes dry… if the top is bouncy and a fork stuck in it comes out clean, its ready.
    It’s good with a scoop of ice cream dumped right into the mug.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I liked less oil and sugar, and less ‘baking’ time. The Dove (my addition) adds a bit of gooeyness, kind of like a volcano cake 🙂

  17. Renee permalink
    September 30, 2011 4:46 pm

    Hey Katie those spice latte cupcakes look great, but I think I’ll stick to the Pumkin Oatmeal for now. It looks awesome! Do you eat it as it is or put it on yogurt? Cheers, Renee.

  18. Faith Marie permalink
    October 11, 2011 8:08 pm

    Tried the Pumpkin Oatmeal with cranberries and it was fabulous! Thank you so much for a terrific breakfast treat!

    What a blessing!

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Pie Baked Oatmeal « Veronica's Cornucopia

Leave a Reply

