Skip to content

The Pie Contest

September 13, 2011

I entered a Pie baking contest last weekend!

I was very nervous, I’ve made very little pastry and have not really had a whole lot of luck with pie pastry in the past.  I knew that I wanted to make an all butter pastry and the filling had to be apple based so I made an apple frangipane pie using golden delicious and granny smith apples.  I love the sweet almond filling with the slightly tart apples and a hint of cinnamon.

All the pies lined up and ready to be judged! (next year I’m totally putting mine in a fancy basket with pretty Autumn linens 🙂 )

I was nervous when they tasted my pie!  It was all very official.

In the end my pie was rated in 6th place out of 19 enteries…not half bad!

I have a whole year ahead of me to practice my pie building and I’m looking forward to doing it all again next year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 10:03 pm

    Congratulations! Sounds like a fun event. You’ll have to post the recipe.

  2. September 13, 2011 10:05 pm

    That is so cool! Congrats! Where was this? We just had our state fair baking contests and I entered 15 of them. Do you do that too? Your pie looks SO good I bet you will win first next year!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      September 14, 2011 6:53 am

      This was hosted by a ktichen store, they sold pieces of pie for $5 to raise money for a community kitchens program that teaches parents how to cook affordable healthy meals for their family. They had amazing prizes for the top 3 pies. There aren’t too many fairs around here, just really small events with 4H groups and such…but I did enjoy the competitive aspect of it all 🙂

  3. September 14, 2011 4:49 am

    6th place is awesome! I own a small homebased pie company… I’ve been told that I need to enter some contests at the local fairs this fall… but I’m too scared!

    You’ve given me a push to look into it!

    PS…
    Your pie looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

