Skip to content

Bread Pudding (to go!)

August 15, 2011

It’s been forever since I’ve posted a recipe, but between sunshine and playgrounds and beaches and camping it’s been a pretty busy summer so far and we’re making the very most of it!  I’ve been baking, just not taking the time to post about it.

These yummy bread pudding muffins kind of make me think of Fall (not that I’m trying to wish away Summer, I feel like it just arrived)

I had totally forgotten how delicious bread pudding was until I made these individual bread pudding muffins and they are so super simple to make…

Cream, eggs, sugar, vanilla and crusty french bread are all you need to put these together.

All of the delicious flavors of french toast packed into a handy little “to go” package.  

I chose to bake these in squares of parchment paper (about 4.5X4.5″) tucked into muffin tins but a muffin liner would work just as well. 

What a perfect addition to brunch!

Bread Pudding Muffins  recipe from the Grand Central Baking Book  makes 12

  • 1 lb loaf of crusty artisan bread (I used a whole loaf of french bread)
  •  1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 6 eggs
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream (I used half and half)
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • powdered sugar for dusting

Cut the bread into 1 inch cubes and toss with the cinnamon in a large bowl. 

Whisk together the eggs, sugar, milk, cream and vanilla and pour over the bread.

Cover and refrigerate for 4-24 hours.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a muffin tin with parchment liners.

Scoop a heaping 1/2 cup of the bread mixture into each cup and bake for 45 minutes, rotating halfway through.  Bread pudding should turn a lovely golden brown on the top.

Remove from oven and dust generously with powdered sugar. 

Serve warm or cold, depending on your preference.  Store in the fridge.

Enjoy!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 7:39 am

    what a great idea! I love bread pudding, it’s one of my all time favorites…I like the idea of these To Go muffin style ones! I often make a breakfast item to send into my husbands work… this will be a huge hit and a change from my traditional muffins and pastries.

  2. August 16, 2011 7:56 pm

    i absolutely love the idea of making bread pudding in muffin form! there are so many possibilities! and we looooove french toast at this house, so these are definite must try. thanks for sharing!

  3. August 17, 2011 1:53 pm

    I love bread pudding–but then I love most anything that includes heavy whipping cream. Love the cute individual servings, I’m making these soon. Thanks, have a great day.

  4. Angie permalink
    November 2, 2011 7:58 pm

    I had one and it was super delicioso

Trackbacks

  1. 5 Muffin Pan Recipes to Save Time & Serve Individual Portions

Leave a Reply

