Skip to content

Peach Frangipane Tart

July 18, 2011

The Secret Recipe Club, let’s refresh…..

The way the SRC works is you sign up and then once a month fantastic Amanda from Amanda’s Cookin‘ sends out an e-mail assigning a blog for you to choose a recipe from. You can choose any recipe from the assigned SRC blog and you make it and blog about it linking back to the original blog it came from so everyone can share the love and hopefully a few new readers!

This month I was assigned Searching for Spice by Corina.  Corina started a series of recipes inspired by the television show “Masterchef” and after browsing through her recipes in the Dessert category I decided to make a panna cotta inspired by her panna cotta with mixed berries.  My Panna Cotta turned out really delicious, I even flavored it with some orange zest so it would taste like a creamsicle but when I photographed it the pictures were beyond terrible so I went back to the blog in search of something else to make and I found a Nectarine Frangipane tart.  I love frangipane, it’s a sweet almond filling that bakes up beautifully and tastes amazing!  I had some peaches that were on the edge of being too ripe so I decided to go with a Peach version.

I was so thankful to have a kitchen scale for these recipes because all of the ingredients are measured  in Grams.  I did my best to convert the amounts, but my scale my have been a little off (unfortunately it’s not digital).  The frangipane is a lot more forgiving than the pastry crust, which I had to add water to in order to get it to bind together, but like I said, my scale could need calibrating. 

This is definatley a crowd pleasing, delicious dessert and I would be pleased to make it again!

Nectarine Frangipane Tart recipe from Searching for Spice

Pastry

  • 1 cup plus 2 tbsp all-purpose flour (now that I think about it, 1 cup of flour may be enough as my pastry was too dry and I needed to add water)
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, cold
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar

frangipane

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups almond meal (ground almonds)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 3-4 peaches or nectarines, sliced

Mix sugar with the flour and cut butter into the mixture using a pastry cutter or a food processor until the mixture has a sandy texture and a few larger pea size pieces of butter remain.  Lightly beat the egg and mix into the flour mixture handling as little as possible until you have a cohesive dough.  Pat into a disk, wrap in plastic wrap and chill for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Grease a tart pan with removable bottom (my tart pan is quite large)

Roll pastry to fit pan and trim the edges.

Cover the pastry with parchment and fill with pie weights.  I don’t have pie weights so I placed a cake pan inside of my tart shell.

Bake for about 10 minutes then remove weights and parchment, prick the bottom of the pastry a few times with a fork and return to the oven for another ten minutes.

Cool pastry and prepare frangipane.

Cream the butter and sugar together,  Add the almond extract and eggs and continue to mix.  Stir in the flour and Almond meal.

Fill tart shell with frangipane and lay peach slices on top pf the tart.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 30-45 minutes until lightly browned. 

*I had some peach jam that I warmed up to thin it out and I brushed it over the peaches before baking as I was afraid they’d dry out too much in the oven and it seemed to work well.

Enjoy! 

Take a peak at all  the other blogs participating in the SRC this month…

 


19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 7:23 am

    this recipe looks delicious! and i love the idea of the secret recipe club…now i just need to work up to 60 posts so that i can join:)

  2. July 18, 2011 9:39 am

    This sounds delicious and looks gorgeous! I love your selection.

  3. July 18, 2011 9:44 am

    This looks delicious. Great photos!

  4. July 18, 2011 12:24 pm

    Your tart looks gorgeous. I’m so glad it turned out well and I like the idea of brushing it with peach jam to keep it moist.

  5. July 18, 2011 1:19 pm

    This looks delicious and so fancy! It would be perfect for a dinner party!

  6. July 18, 2011 4:16 pm

    I adore frangipane and haven’t thought to make one in years but now I’m inspired.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC recipe this month: Holy Guacamole.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  7. July 18, 2011 4:47 pm

    Your frangipani tart looks amazing! And I’m impressed that you did two recipes from your assigned blog because the first one didn’t work out, now that’s called dedication!

  8. July 18, 2011 6:31 pm

    This looks wonderful. Peaches are such a great fruit….I love the smell of them, it just uplifts your spirits and makes you smile!

  9. July 21, 2011 10:23 pm

    This looks amazing. I have been trying to improve my pie crusts. This recipe will be my next trial! Glad to find you on SRC! Have a great weekend.

  10. July 29, 2011 9:49 am

    Yum, looks delicious! Glad to be part of SRC with you!

  11. July 31, 2011 9:59 pm

    I love peach tarts, this one looks great. So fun to be in the Secret Recipe Club with you.

  12. August 10, 2011 10:20 am

    Peaches, almonds, pie crust. Perfection.

  13. August 10, 2011 3:53 pm

    This is sooo lovely! I bet it was delicious 🙂 I have featured you on SRC today! http://secretrecipeclub.com/peach-frangipane-tart-betcha-cant-eat-just-one/

  14. August 10, 2011 3:54 pm

    That looks gorgeous and delicious! I was wondering what the almond paste-thing in pastries is and what one can do with it at home, so you’ve now answered both questions delightfully.

  15. August 10, 2011 7:53 pm

    That looks like a great use for peaches!

  16. August 10, 2011 9:18 pm

    Your frangipane is beautiful! How perfect for peach season.

  17. August 11, 2011 1:41 pm

    This looks amazing! I have been craving peaches for days. I finally picked some up yesterday and now I’m just waiting for that perfectly ripe moment!

  18. August 11, 2011 5:10 pm

    That looks seriously amazing. I love almonds. I love peaches. I’ve never made anything with frangipane but I may give this a try!

Trackbacks

  1. Peach Frangipane Tart: Betcha Can’t Eat Just One | The Secret Recipe Club

Leave a Reply

