Skip to content

Gluten Free “Whole Orange” Cake

July 8, 2011

I was asked the other day if I had a recipe for a Gluten Free “Whole Orange” Cake.  I didn’t, but knew with a little research I could have one whipped up in no time!     I hope that this is similar to what you were looking for Kim!

This beautiful tea cake is dense, moist and fragrant.  The recipe uses only 5 ingredients: eggs, sugar, ground almonds, baking powder and a whole orange, rind, pith and all! 

 I love the flavour of this simple cake and I know that I will be making it again. 

I am posting just a half recipe and baked my cake in a 7″ round cake pan.  You could double the recipe up and bake in a larger spring-form pan, just adjust the baking time to suit the size of your pan.

Gluten Free Whole Orange Cake

  • 1 navel orange (use organic as you’re eating the peel and all!)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup almond meal (I ground my own almonds in my food processor, if you purchase almond meal, it’s made from blanched almonds so the colour of your cake will be different  I should also note that I was short about 3 tbsp of almonds so I topped up the measuring cup with Bob’s red Mill Gluten free All purpose flour)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Grease cake pan and line the bottom with a circle of parchment paper.

In a saucepan, add enough water to cover the orange and bring to a boil.  Simmer until the orange peel is quite soft.  Many of the recipes I read suggested boiling the orange for 2 hours to take away the bitterness but I felt like this was a little bit excessive.  I simmered my whole orange for about 20 minutes.  Let cool until it’s cool enough to handle.

Chop orange into a few chunks and place in the bowl of a food processor fitted with a metal blade.  Process until it’s quite smooth.  Add the sugar and pulse a few times.  Scrape the edge of the bowl down as required.

Add the eggs and pulse to mix.

Add the ground almonds and baking powder and pulse to combine.  There shouldn’t be any lumps.

Pour cake batter into prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until cake springs back when touched in the center.

Once cool, remove cake from pan. 

To make a glaze, mix up about 1 cup of powdered sugar with 1 tsp vanilla and a few tbsp of milk to make a fairly thin, pourable icing.  Pour over top of cooled cake and let it drip over the sides.

Enjoy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    July 12, 2011 2:40 pm

    This sounds bizzare and yummy! I’ll have to try it this weekend. Can i puree the orange in a blender if that’s all I’ve got?

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      July 12, 2011 3:49 pm

      A blender should work just fine! Just make sure they’re pureed really well!

  2. July 14, 2011 11:59 pm

    There needs to be more gluten free recipes. Thanks for your efforts.

  3. Melissa permalink
    September 22, 2011 12:52 pm

    i made this recipe a few weeks ago, but with a lemon…tasted just like lemon squares at Christmas time! delicious, thanks for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. Orange Pear and Persimmon Cake Recipe - Gluten Free and Dairy Free - Jeanette's Healthy Living

Leave a Reply

