Skip to content

Neapolitan Whoopie Pies

July 1, 2011

When I was a kid I didn’t love Neapolitan ice cream.

  I was opposed to the pink strawberry layer, it just got in the way and it was tough to scoop around when we had ice cream. 

 I’m very glad to say my tastes have changed because Strawberry, Chocolate and Vanilla make a great team 🙂

For these Neapolitan Whoopie Pies I used a vanilla whoopie pie recipe, baked up half and then added cocoa to the second half of the batter and filled the middles with strawberry buttercream.   The cakes with the cocoa seemed to puff up much nicer and I know that it wasn’t due to the cocoa, so I’m crediting the time the batter had to rest while the vanilla cakes were baking.   The recipe didn’t recommend letting the batter rest, but I did read quite a few other recipe that let the batter rest first so I’m going to go ahead and recommend that you let the batter rest for a half  hour before scooping and baking for a more dome shaped, lighter cake!

I chose to fill the “pies” with buttercream because I had some extra leftover from the Button Cake, but if you check out the original recipe you can find a more original whoopie pie filling…it has marshmallow fluff!!)

These whoopie pies were quite large, I used a medium size cookie scoop for the dough and baked 8 to a pan.   I could fit 9 into a medium size pizza box (yes, I re-used the box from the donut shop)

Neapolitan Whoopie Pies  (recipe from Rock Recipes) Makes 20 large whoopie pies

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2  cup vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk or milk soured with a tsp of vinegar or lemon juice
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Strawberry Buttercream (as per usual, I didn’t measure ingredients for this but used butter, powdered sugar a bit of milk and pureed stawberries) 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

In mixer bowl, beat shortening with sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time and continue mixing.  Beat in Vanilla.

In another bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder.

Add the dry ingredients alternating with the milk, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients.

Divide the batter into two bowl and add cocoa to one half of the batter.

Scoop by large rounded tablespoons (or use a dough scoop) onto prepared cookie sheets and bake for about 15 minutes until the cakes spring back when gently touches.

Let cool.

Using a piping bag or a spoon, put icing onto cooled vanilla cake and top with a chocolate cake. 

Eat one  two! (and then send the rest off somewhere far far away.  The people you share them with will thank you!)

Enjoy!

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    July 4, 2011 6:02 pm

    Wish I wasn’t watching my calorie intake as they look yummy!!

Leave a Reply

