Skip to content

Cute As A Button

June 26, 2011

The Button Cake.

I was so excited to create this cake for a very good friend’s baby shower.  I was inspired after seeing a cake decorated with candy buttons and even more inspired after I came across a button mold for forming gum paste buttons when I was at Michaels!

This cake gave me a little bit  quite a lot of trouble. 

It could have been that my buttercream wasn’t thick enough, or that my kitchen was pretty warm or that there was a crying baby in the background (who was hanging out with Daddy but really wanted to be hanging out with Mommy)  

I couldn’t get my fondant to lay smooth, I even tore it off and started over again. 

At one point I was ready to scrap the project and just make cupcakes but it was really a lot of cake to waste! 

The end result was a bit of a lumpy cake with pretty decorations that tasted pretty good. 

Hopefully the next cake will go a bit more smoothly (no pun intended!)

I certainly learned a lot from this project!

The bottom cake is 9″

middle 7″ and the top 5″

The cake is Chocolate with a bavarian cream filling and frosted with vanilla buttercream and covered with marshmallow fondant. 

I think that next time I will try my hand at regular fondant because Marshmallow or not, it doesn’t really get eaten anyways 🙂

Congratulations on your beautiful baby girl!

Welcome to the world baby Anna!

Here’s a look back at some other past (not so lumpy) cakes made with marshmallow fondant ….

The Farm Cake

Club Penguin

The “Big City” Cake

In the Night Garden

Princess and Frog Cakes

Fire Dept. Cake

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 7:16 pm

    I’m a button collector, and I think this cake is just the cutest thing! I’ve enjoyed looking through all of the wonderful treats you have on your blog. Thanks to you, I’ve discovered a new favorite place on the internet- Pinterest. (Yes, I live under a rock- I really need to get out more.) Looking forward to more visits to your lovely space. 🙂

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 27, 2011 7:28 pm

      THanks so much! You’ve made my day 🙂 Be careful, pintrest can become very very addicting!!! 🙂

  2. June 27, 2011 8:52 pm

    I love the buttons…I am going to get me one of those molds next time I am at Michaels..are they in the chocolate mold section??…I’ll search.And oneof these days I am going to try your marshmallow fondant recipe…and that yummy looking rubarb cake.
    Redoing my blog..check it out sometime again.
    Cheers:)
    Debbie

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      June 28, 2011 12:18 pm

      Thanks Debbie, the mold is made by wilton and it’s in the cake decorating section. It’s pink and was about $16 (pre coupon)

      Walmart is now carrying a lot of cake decorating tools/suppiles now in the crafty section and their prices were so much cheaper than michale’s for a lot things. It would be worth checking out your local walmart as well!

      Love your new walpaper!

  3. July 2, 2011 9:19 am

    Thanks Katie
    Hope you had a Happy Canada Day !!
    I will check out Walmart first….love those Michaels coupons 🙂
    Cheers:)
    Debbie

  4. Angie permalink
    November 2, 2011 8:01 pm

    I loved the cake,,and I know it was a lot of trouble. It was a great surprise and oh so delicious.

Leave a Reply

