Skip to content

How do you have time to do that??

April 1, 2011

Just about every time I make something new someone comments “how you have the time to do that!” or “you must be a super mom!”

Well, I definitely do not have super powers (unless they’re for healing owies or making up song lyrics on the spot) and as far as time goes, my kitchen is just really set up to make baking easy and it’s something I love to do so I make time for it.

This is how I get it done…. 

  1. I most definitely could not live without my Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer!  I use it daily and it makes baking quick and easy. It’s always on the counter ready to go with the attachments hanging up near by.
  2. All of the tools I use on a regular basis hang from a bar on the wall so they’re ready to use them when I need them.  I use dough scoops for cookies, muffins and cupcakes, I have a variety of sizes and they speed up the process and keep hands tidy.  Same goes for my baking ingredients, they’re near by and I know exactly where everything lives.
  3. I have pint sized helpers!  The job doesn’t always get done quickly when the kids help, but from measuring ingredients to washing dishes, they love to pull up a chair and help out.  They’re also learning a great life skill at an early age 🙂 bonus!
  4. The Dishwasher is my best friend
  5. The new baby hates to be put down loves to be held so while he’s in the snugli I might as well be productive  (I’m typing one handed and nursing a baby as I speak!)
  6. My laundry isn’t folded and my floors aren’t washed! (priorities people!)
  7. It’s fulfilling to take simple ingredients and turn them into extraordinary things!  (also doesn’t hurt that they taste super delicious)

Last night for dinner we had a super nutritious meal of hot dogs and baby carrots!  🙂  It was gorgeous and sunny and 14 degrees outside so hot dogs seemed like a good way to welcome Spring.    I had a sweet potato hanging out in the cupboard so I thought I’d test my luck with potato chips. 

 Thank goodness it was warm and sunny because my house required some serious airing out afterwards!  They were pretty tasty, but I’m not sure they were 100% worth the deep fried smell in the house…I’d rather save that for donuts! 

I think next time I’ll try them out in the oven so they’re healthier and less stinky but if you’re up for deep frying, these are worth a try for sure!

Sweet Potato Chips

  • 1 medium sized sweet potato, washed and sliced into 2mm thick slices.
  • oil for frying (i used canola)
  • salt or seasoned salt

Heat oil in a large pot on the stove top over medium high heat.  If using a thermometer you’re looking for about 350 degrees but I couldn’t find mine (so much for the well organized tools!!)

Slice sweet potatoes to about 2mm thick.  Keep them in a bowl of cold water until ready to use.

Dry sweet potatoes between layers of paper towel. 

Being careful not to over crowd the oil, carefully place a few chips in the oil and fry until they become brown and crispy (mine took about a minute)

Remove from oil and drain on paper towels.  Sprinkle with salt.

Try not to eat ALL of the finished chips while frying the remaining sweet potatos…this was a bit of a problem!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

