Skip to content

My New Best Friend (aka Cheesecake)

February 8, 2011

Vanilla Bean Cheesecake with an Almond Crust and Blueberry Sauce 

YUM

This was a perfect Sunday dinner dessert.  The cheesecake was rich, smooth, not too sweet and topped with blueberries…fantastic!

The crust, cheesecake and topping were all sweetened using Agave Nectar and I will definitely be enjoying this simple dessert again.

 Vanilla Bean Cheesecake

Crust

  • 1 cup almonds (you could also use pecans or walnuts here)
  • 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Cheesecake

  • 2  8oz pkgs light cream cheese, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 vanilla bean (or vanilla extract)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Using a food processor with a steel blade attachment, pulse the almonds until they’re finely ground.  Add the graham crackers and coconut and well as the agave and melted butter.  Pulse until mixture is combined (it will be a bit sticky)

Grease a small springform pan (I think mine was 7 or 8″) and firmly press the crust in the bottom of the pan and up the sides.   Place on a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes.

While the crust bakes, beat the cream cheese until smooth.  Add the agave nectar and the eggs.  Add the seeds from the vanilla bean as well as the flour and beat until very smooth.

Pour the cheesecake batter into the baked crust and smooth with a spatula. 

Return to oven and bake for 30-35 minutes or until it looks set in the middle.

Turn off the oven and crack the oven door open slightly and allow the cheesecake to cool int he warm oven for 1 hour.

Remove from the oven and chill until cold.

Serve with fruit.

 

Enjoy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 2:43 pm

    Congratulations Katie! You are my winner of The Joseph Joseph Rolling Pin! Just email me with your email and information on how to ship this to you. Thanks for your support 🙂
    Mickey
    monster_mama@msn.com

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 8, 2011 3:33 pm

      wahoooo! oh my word, that is super exciting news! 🙂

  2. February 12, 2011 8:03 pm

    This looks so NUMMM!

  3. March 6, 2011 8:57 pm

    That looks great! I thought I hated cheesecake and sometimes it takes just trying the RIGHT one to become a fan. I made a WHITE CHOCOLATE STRAWBERRY SWIRL CHEESCAKE this weekend for my little guy’s birthday and OMG…I now LOVE cheesecake. Soooo good that I posted it on my blog too!. I am so amazed that I actually like it! Now…when the hubby wants cheesecake I have a go to recipe! I’d like to try this one also because he looooves all things vanilla! Can’t wait. Thanks for sharing!

  4. March 21, 2011 9:17 am

    drools lolx…

Leave a Reply

