Skip to content

And The Secret Ingredient Is………

January 24, 2011

 

Rich, dense, fudgy, dark chocolate brownies

How could we live without these?

Yesterday I hit an all time sugar low.  I’m a little bit embarrassed to admit it, but I even cried.  I missed sugar. 

Sugar, white flour and I….well, we have a bit of a love affair and since our break up last week it’s really been on my mind. 

 There must be a low carb way to have a brownie and I think I’ve found it 🙂

This recipe still contains quite a bit sugar…I think it could easily be cut back or sweetened with something like Agave but it’s a good start and according to the recipe only contains about 13 grams of carbohydrates (pretty darn good for a brownie!) 

 There’s a secret ingredient in these brownies that you’d probably never guess.

 

BLACK BEANS!

 

The recipe for these brownies comes from dlife.com  where they have a whole HUGE selection of  diabetic/low carb recipes

My 2 year old is in love with these brownies, I feel very sneaky!

 

Black Bean Brownies

  • 15oz canned black beans , rinsed
  •  4oz Baking chocolate, unsweetened
  •  1tbsp butter, salted 
  • 6egg whites , divided
  •  2cup sugar
  • 3tbsp white all purpose flour
  •  2tbsp instant espresso powder
  •  1/2cup chopped walnuts (I used almonds and sprinkled them on top)
    *I also mixed up about 1 tbsp of melted butter and mixed in some cocoa, milk and a little bit of honey to make a thin glaze for the top

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9X13″ baking pan.

Rinse the beans well and then puree in the food processor.  Add two egg whites to help get the mixture going and puree until smooth.

*at this point you could use a mixer or mix by hand but I just continued on in the food processor.

Melt the butter and chocolate in a microwave safe bowl for 90 seconds.  Stir it up every 30 seconds. It should be nice and smooth.

Add the remaining egg whites, sugar, flour and espresso powder to the bowl and mix.

Mix in the chocolate until smooth.

Pour into the prepared pan and bake 25-30 minutes or until the brownie begins to pull away from the sides of the pan.

Glaze if desired

Sprinkle with nuts.

Chill

Cut and serve!

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 8:01 pm

    I’ve heard of using black beans with brownies before but I’ve never wanted to try it until now. The picture of these brownies look amazing. You did a great job on these. And Chocolate is a weakness for me as well lol.

  2. January 25, 2011 6:05 pm

    Don’t these look scrum-diddlie-umpcious!

Leave a Reply

