Skip to content

Peanut Butter

January 20, 2011

At 32 weeks preggo I’ve just been diagnosed with gestational diabetes. 

 I was immediately overwhelmed (and a little bit sad that my Mc.D’s chocolate milkshakes will need to become a thing of the past)

I’m meeting with someone at the diabetes clinic today to learn about diet but in the meantime I’ve been doing a little bit of reading and today for a snack I thought that an apple with peanut butter would be a great choice! 

I had a huge bag of peanuts kicking around that I had been saving to make salted nut rolls, but since A sugary salted peanut roll is likely not on the approved list of things to eat I decided to make Peanut Butter!

All you need for peanut butter is a good food processor and some peanuts!

About 3 cups of peanuts (i didn’t measure) yielded me about 1 and a half cups of yummy natural peanut butter. 

Peanut Butter

Step 1:  Put peanuts in food processor

Step 2: place lid of food processor

Step 3.  Turn it on and watch the magic! (it takes 2-3 minutes and will clump into a large ball before smoothing out)

Step 4. Scoop the peanut butter into a jar and store in the fridge.  If the oil separates, just give it a good stir before eating.

I’m not sure how long this lasts in the fridge, I”m thinking probably not for too long as it has no added preservatives but a small batch wouldn’t last all that long in my house anyways!  This would be amazing in some PB cookies but we’re not going there!

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marusha permalink
    January 21, 2011 5:03 am

    I didn’t realize that it was that simple to make peanut butter! I’m going to give it a whirl, thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

