Skip to content

Katie vs Lebkuchen Round #1

November 25, 2010

I’ve read about 30 different recipes for Lebkuchen, a traditional German Christmas Cookie that can be cut into shapes and glazed or dipped in Chocolate.  The Lebkuchen I’ve tasted have all been very light with a soft, airy and chewy bite to them and this recipe didn’t quite fit the bill 😦

There were a few things wrong with the recipe…too much molasses for my taste, no ginger in the recipe, and just too dense and the wrong over all texture.  This recipe has no fat or leavener (aside from the egg).  All of the recipes I’ve read have varied SO much, I’m not sure which one to try next?!

  Don’t make this recipe…I will get it right before Christmas! 

Not very Succesful Lebkuchen

  • 3 c all purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup molasses

Sift together the flour and spices and set aside.

Beat the egg with the sugar until it’s light in colour and doubles in volume (about 2 minutes)

Add the honey and molasses and beat well.  Mix in the flour and spices.

Divide dough into 2 discs and wrap in plastic.  Chill for 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and roll dough 1/4 thick.  Cut into shapes and bake for 10-12 minutes.

Glaze cookies.

Again, I wouldn’t recommend using this recipe, it needs some serious tweaking!

If anyone has a recipe to share, I’d love to give it another go!

At least they look pretty!

(One month until Christmas)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. betchacanteatjustone permalink*
    November 28, 2010 3:02 pm

    I asked questions at my favorite bakery today…. I will try with all honey, and maybe I baked them a little bit too long or worked in too much flour?!? I will attempt again soon!

  2. November 28, 2010 6:19 pm

    Lookin’ nummy!

Leave a Reply

