Skip to content

Gingerbread Cupcakes

November 23, 2010

You’ve got to know it’s winter because my photos are all very poorly lit!

Yesterday afternoon I baked cupcakes.  Lots of cupcakes! 

Gingerbread cupcakes have been popping up lately and I thought they sounded really good so I google blog searched for a recipe and picked the one that used the least amount of butter (I needed to have enough leftover for buttercream and it was too snowy to walk to the store)

I made a few alterations to the recipe and ended up with a gingerbread cake that was moist, light and full of spicy gingerbread flavours.  Instead of using all molasses I opted to cut the amount in half and use golden corn syrup for the other half instead.  I used a full tablespoon of ginger and about 1 tsp of cinnamon to spice them up!  They’re topped with a vanilla cinnamon buttercream and a sprinkling of Raw Sugar.

 

Gingerbread Cupcakes  I can’t find the blog I sourced the recipe from but I believe the original recipe was from Land O Lakes

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup molasses
  • 1/3 cup golden corn syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line muffin tins with paper liners (I managed to get 2 1/2 dozen from this recipe)

Sift together the flour, soda and spices and set aside.

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs one at a time mixing well after each addition.  Add molasses and corn syrup and mix until combined.

Add dry ingredients in 3 parts, alternating with water, being sure to begin and end with dry ingredients.  Mix well to ensure everything is combined.

Fill paper liners 2/3rds full of batter and bake for 18-22 minutes or until a pick inserted in the center of the cupcake comes out clean.

Let cool for 10 minutes in the pans and then remove to cool completely before frosting.

Cinnamon Buttercream  I wish I could give you a real recipe but I really didn’t measure anything

  • Butter (I do know that I used a full pound of butter, frosted about 30 cupcakes and had about a cup of frosting leftover)
  • milk
  • powdered sugar
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla

Using an electric mixer, beat the butter until smooth.

Add the cinnamon to the butter. 

Add sugar.

Add Vanilla.

If it looks like it needs milk, add milk…..if it needs more sugar, add more sugar!  If it looks and tastes like icing you’ve done a fantastic Job!  🙂

I used a huge star tip (i’m being really super specific, i know!!) and piped the cupcakes with a swirl.  They are finished off with a sprinkling of Coarse raw sugar.

Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

