Skip to content

Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares

November 4, 2010

My mom used to make these Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares when I was a kid and they are one of my Dad’s favorite treats. 

They only take about 5 minutes to whip up and only a few simple ingredients.  And because they’re made of 100% whole grain cereal, you can almost justify eating one two before you’ve had your breakfast   😉

Most puffed wheat square recipes call for corn syrup, but I’ve chosen to make them with honey instead.

Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares

  • 7 tbsp cocoa powder (feel free to use more or less depending on how chocolatey you prefer them)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 8 cups puffed wheat cereal

Butter a 9X13″ baking pan and set aside.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine the honey, brown sugar, cocoa and butter and stir until combined and butter is melted.

In a large greased bowl, measure out the puffed wheat cereal.

Once the chocolate sauce comes to a boil, lower the heat and let bubble and boil for 1 minute.

Pour the chocolate mixture over the puffed wheat and stir until it’s all coated.

Pour into the buttered pan and using a wet hand, pat the puffed wheat down firmly in the pan.  Let cool completely before cutting into squares and serving.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    April 22, 2013 9:16 am

    Thank you so much for this recipe! I was thinking about what recipe I should try and I wanted something new. Then I remembered the bite of heaven a friend of mine bought me once…chocolate puffed wheat bars! I looked up the recipe thinking it would be an easy one to find but they all had corn syrup (no thank you!). I think this was about the 8th recipe I clicked on but thank goodness I did!

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 22, 2013 9:27 am

      I have made them with corn syrup as well and I have to say that they do hold together a bit sturdier with corn syrup but they are equally as declicious made this way 🙂

Leave a Reply

