Skip to content

Marshmallow Fondant….it’s a good thing!

May 1, 2010

I’ve had some serious computer issues bogging me down recently and now I can’t seem to re install my camera software….grrrr  I have some super duper photos of the cake I made for my son’s birthday party but they’re stuck on the camera!   I do however have a few photos I took the night before the party and they will have to do!

 As my 2 year old would say  “TA DAAAA!”

The little rocks, the polka dots, the flowers, the number 2, the crazy amount of green fondant…ALL edible and all made from marshmallows, sugar and food colouring!

Marshmallow fondant is easy to prepare (and if you’ve ever played with play dough) also easy to work with.  This is my first attempt at fondant and it’s definitely not perfect but I’m pretty pleased!

  This is very hands on…put your mixer away and break out the crisco because things are going to get very sticky!

***Edit***   I now refer to add 2 tsp of water o the marshmallow mix before melting and I do not let the fondant rest over night.  It is easier to roll out if using right away

Marshmallow fondant

  • 1 bag miniature marshmallows
  • 1 pound (4 cups) powdered sugar…this is not set in stone
  • vegetable shortening
  • gel paste food colouring (i used wilton)

Now there are a few ways you could go about this but I will give you the way that worked best for me.

First grease EVERYTHING with the shortening.  I mean EVERYTHING.  Hands, bowl, spatula, counter top.   Don’t grease your hands yet…easpecially if your microwave is up high and you’re melting marshmallows in a heavy pyrex measuring cup!  🙂  I’m experienced!

Pop the marshmallows into a microwave safe bowl that’s been greased with shortening and heat until melted.  (If you are colouring the whole batch I recommend adding the colour now rather than trying to knead it in later.  It’s much easier)

Pour the melted marshmallow onto the greased counter top/work surface and add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time.  NOW GREASE HANDS!  You will need to use your hands to work the sugar into the marshmallow.  Work in as much sugar as you need to until the fondant is no longer sticky but firm and workable.  (I would compare it to the firmness of chilled sugar cookie dough)

Wrap tightly in plastic wrap and let sit overnight.

*You can also colour your fondant in smaller batches once it’s made by kneading food colouring into the prepared fondant.

Details on how to cover cake with fondant to come!

 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

