Skip to content

Birthday Busy!

April 22, 2010

 

 

I’ve not posted anything for 2 whole weeks.

I’ve been baking….I’ve been taking pictures but I’ve been lacking the motivation to upload my photos and get blogging!

This may  be part of the distraction…

 

My son is turning 2 years old on Sunday and we’re having a “In the night Garden” birthday party.

 

I’ve had to work on this…..

 

It’s a piniata.

It’s a giant balloon covered with newspaper strips and flour and water and glue and paper and old Cheerio boxes.

It’s supposed to look like Upsie Daisy from “In the night Garden” but it kind of looks like a muppet! (she’s a work in progress)

 

  

These cookies have also been invited tot he party.  They’re not what I was envisioning…but I think they’re pretty cute and they kinda

 resemble the characters from the show so they’ve all been wrapped up in clear cellophane and are taunting my children from the top of the fridge. 

Look.  Don’t touch. 

 

These are either a huge blue chocolate, cake and frosting waste of time disaster or they might resemble Iggle Piggle when I’m all done. 

  I was going to scrap the project but my birthday boy came into the kitchen and exclaimed “dat is iddle piddle!!!” 

YES!  I plan on finishing them soon!

 

I’m also planning to use marshmallow fondant and make a two tiered cake.  Am I insane?  YES!  I am no good at cake decorating and am anticipating a huge disaster and will likely be making emergency birthday cupcakes on Sunday morning (always good to have a back up plan) 

Wish me luck!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Merideth permalink
    April 22, 2010 4:37 pm

    Good luck on the cake! Let me know if you need to borrow some cake pans. I have some good ones in squares and circles.

    Can’t wait to see how the cake turns out. Mmmmmm…cake!

  2. April 22, 2010 11:52 pm

    Love it all!! I think it looks wonderful!!

  3. April 24, 2010 4:44 am

    All so adorably cute and oh so creative!! Looking forward to seeing pictures of the cake.
    🙂

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      April 24, 2010 4:49 am

      Thanks so much Debbie! Marshmallow fondant…so far so good!

  4. April 24, 2010 1:14 pm

    OMG!! ADORABLE!!

    I am also rubbish at cake decorating, and am currently practicing hard for my kids’ bday!

    I’d love it if you could link your amazing party to my party Link Party on May 3rd! 🙂

    Plus, I’ll be able to get pointers on the marshmallow frosting (last time I did it, it went all sticky and hard…)

    Hugs,
    Bird

Leave a Reply

