Skip to content

GO CANADA!

February 21, 2010

With the Vancouver 2010 Olympics in full and swing and literally a hop, skip and a BC ferry ride away I couldn’t resist some patriotic Maple leaf cookies to cheer Canada on!

I love the red mittens!  I think I’m willing to stand in the mile long line up outside of the HBC store when I go to Vancouver on Friday to get some red olympic mittens!

I tried out a new recipe from I am Baker for the icing and it turned out beautiful with no meringue powder or egg whites required!  (Meringue powder is hard to come by in my small town!)   You can use your favorite sugar cookie recipe, or you can find one here.

Icing

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp light corn syrup
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • a few drops of lemon juice
  • red gel/paste food colouring

I tripled the recipe and had a little bit leftover so depending on how many cookies and what size they are you could adjust the measurements accordingly.  I frosted 19 rather large maple leafs and 22 mittens.

Mix the icing ingredients together adding the milk a few drops at a time until you have a fairly thick icing for outlining the cookies.  Add food colouring.   

Once your cookies have been outlined you can thin the icing down with more milk to flood the cookies.  

First you need a cookie cutter….and if you don’t have quite the right one you can make a template and cut the cookies out by hand.  I find a craft knife to be useful for this.

Bake the cookies according to the directions and let cool on wire racks.

Once the cookies have cooled, you can outline the edges. (I used a #2 tip)

Let the icing dry for 30-60 minutes and you can flood the cookies with icing.  I use a squeeze bottle with a small tip filled with icing that has been thinned down so it’s fairly runny.  Use a toothpick to fill in the edges.

Let icing dry Overnight before piping on any details.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 5:56 pm

    LOVE THEM!!! You are really talented girl… making your own cookie design and everything…and the colors and writing is just perfection!!

    Great job!

    Be blessed-
    Amanda

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 21, 2010 6:42 pm

      Thanks Amanda 🙂 Your recipe is definatley a keeper! 🙂

  2. Roberta permalink
    February 21, 2010 6:26 pm

    Way to go Katie…these look absolutely amazing.

    • betchacanteatjustone permalink*
      February 21, 2010 6:42 pm

      Thanks Roberta! 🙂

  3. kate permalink
    February 21, 2010 11:45 pm

    Ok…I would totally pay you to make these for my class!!! They are absolutely amazing! I think you are in the wrong business 🙂
    kate

  4. Marah permalink
    February 22, 2010 12:08 am

    Katie – you need to ditch doing childcare for a living and open your own sweets shop. You truely are amazing!!!

  5. February 22, 2010 5:01 am

    Absolutely Adorable Katie…yes…Go Canada Go!!
    and speaking of those sweet Red Mitten cookies…you’ll want to pop
    on over for a visit…my new Give Away starts tomorrow…can u guess what it will be?
    Have u gone over to Vancouver yet?
    Cheers 🙂
    Debbie

  6. February 24, 2010 9:27 pm

    WOW!!!
    Go CANADA!!!
    Yeah!
    These cookies are sooooo cute!!!!
    Oh how I would love to munch on these while watching the Olympics!!!
    Yeah! I was so rooting for the Canadian Ice Dancers for the GOLD!!!
    And the sweet Canadian Ice Skater who lost her sweet mom…
    it would be sooooo my heart’s desire for her to win the GOLD!!!!
    Go Canada!!!!
    I am so impresssed with the way you cut out the pattern for the maple leaf!!!!
    I think you and Miss Bridget must be best friends! :o)
    Thanks for all the support over on my blog sweet friend!
    xxooxx

  7. March 4, 2010 4:44 pm

    wow, such patience cutting those maple leaves out! These tuned out great and the mittens are adorable!

Leave a Reply

