Skip to content

Dear Cinnamon and Chocolate.

January 24, 2010

Dear Cinnamon and Chocolate,

I knew you were acquaintances and sometimes hung out together but I didn’t realize that you were actually bff’s (best friends forever!)  Cinnamon and Chocolate, you are my new favorite combination and I will forever blame my weight gain directly on you!  

 I came across this incredible dessert yesterday on I am BakerAmanda, you rock!   I was in the midst of putting together some desserts for a party and this dessert was not on the list.  I revisited Amanda’s blog probably 5 times to drool over the photos of this sweet creation and decided I had to make it NOW.  

  The cookies are light and crispy and full of cinnamon and sugar sandwiched with vanilla whipped cream and then drizzled with hot fudge!   This cookie was made last night and I didn’t photograph it until this morning.   I stabilized the whipped cream with some gelatin and I was super surprised by the fantastic result!  The whipped cream held its shape but it’s texture wasn’t compromised at all by the gelatin, I will definitely be using this trick often! 

I ate this for breakfast.

Cinnamon crisp cookies transformed into amazing dessert recipe from I am Baker

for the cookie

  • 3/4 cups unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (I used a silpat sheet)

Cream the butter and sugar until it’s light and fluffy.  Add the egg.

sift flour and cinnamon together and beat until dough is well combined.

There were a few methods suggested to make the cookies, I decided to use my dough scoop.

Scoop one teaspoon full of dough

ooh, maybe this is more than a tsp…the important thing is that they’re all the same size!

Roll the dough in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar.

Use a flat bottom glass to squash the dough as flat as you can make it!

Bake for 6-8 minutes and immediately transfer cookies to a wire rack and let cool.

For the whipped cream:

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 4 tsp powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp unflavored gelatin
  • 1 tbsp cold water

Soften 1 tsp of gelatin in 1 tbsp cold water for 1 minute.  Microwave for 20-30 seconds until the gelatin is in liquid form.  Cool slightly. 

Whip the cream until soft peaks form.  Add the powdered sugar and whip until cream is stiff  (careful not to over whip)  Mix in the gelatin and vanilla and beat until combined.    Fill a piping bag with a large star tip and fill with whipped cream.

Pipe cream in between cookies (you can add as many layers as you want)  and top with hot fudge sauce!

Enjoy!

OOOH I almost forgot….wanna go to a birthday party??

Debbie at nana’s kitchen is having a birthday AND birthday giveaways!  Head over and check it out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 6:32 pm

    ooh…yummy! I love cinnamon and chocolate…in fact…anything with either one of those delightful flavours. Such an appropriate post on which to share my button…thanks so much 🙂
    Good luck!!!

  2. January 24, 2010 8:33 pm

    AWESOME. Just amazing! Your addition of the sugar and the flattening is a HUGE time saver and SO smart. I think you totally just improved the recipe!! You go girl!

    Blessings-
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

