Skip to content

I (heart) You!

January 5, 2010

I wanted a way to make the back to school winter lunches a little bit more exciting and after stumbling across a blog called Bento for Kidlet I was super inspired to get creative!  Her lunches are amazing to say the least and I will try my hardest to make my little bug’s lunches more creative!

I thought little heart shaped pb&j sandwhiches would be super cute so I threw together some ingredients and they turned out perfect!  I altered a Focaccia bread recipe by leaving out the spices and switching out some of the AP Flour for Whole wheat flour.   If only I could find my Mickey Mouse Cookie cutter!

I (heart) you Whole Wheat mini buns (I used just half of this recipe)

  • 1 3/4 cups warm water
  • 4 1/4 tsp quick rise yeast
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup Olive oil
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Dissolve the sugar in the warm water and whisk in the yeast.  Let rest for 5 minutes.

Add the olive oil and the salt.

Mix the flour in one cup at a time and knead until you have a smooth soft dough.

Roll the dough 1/2″ thin and cut out with a cookie cutter.  I used a heart shaped cutter roughly 3 inches.   Place on a parchment lined baking sheet and cover with a towel.  Let rise 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Brush the tops of buns with Olive oil and bake for 10-14 minutes.

So cute!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 1:46 pm

    These are super darn cute! You are so clever with making the kids lunches!

Leave a Reply

